CVE-2026-85515 — OpenPGP message truncation not reported, bypassing the SEIPDv1 integrity check
In Bouncy Castle for Java before 1.86, a truncated OpenPGP encrypted message was accepted with no error reported, and on the SEIPD version 1 path with no integrity check performed at all. RFC 9580 sec. 13.7 permits an implementation to release the cleartext of the fully authenticated chunks when streaming but requires it to indicate a clear error as soon as the truncation is detected, and to report suspect integrity when it discovers malleable ciphertext. The truncation was detected and then discarded: when a message is truncated but the length field of the enclosing packet is left unchanged, BCPGInputStream.PartialInputStream raises an EOFException for the missing ciphertext, and BCPGInputStream.nextPacketTag() reports an EOFException as a clean end of message, so the packet stream above it stopped as though no packets remained. On the AEAD path (SEIPD version 2 and the version 5 AEAD packet), when the literal data packet ended on an AEAD chunk boundary and the consumer read in increments smaller than one chunk, the look-ahead for the packet after the literal triggered the truncated chunk read, so BcAEADUtil and JceAEADUtil never reached the trailing message tag of sec. 5.13.2 that authenticates the total plaintext length; the caller received the plaintext of the fully authenticated chunks, every packet following the literal was silently dropped, and no exception was raised, so a signed and encrypted message read back as a well-formed unsigned one. Every byte released on that path remained individually authenticated, making this a missing truncation error rather than a forgery, and it is a residual of CVE-2026-12817, which closed the same outcome for an attacker who corrects the outer packet length. On the SEIPD version 1 path the consequence was more serious: IntegrityProtectedInputStream verifies the modification detection code from close(), and reached close() only by closing itself when a read of it returned -1, which a truncated message never produces, so PGPEncryptedData.verify() never ran and the recipient was handed CFB-decrypted plaintext on which no integrity check of any kind had been performed. Measured on a message truncated into that shape, 136 distinct single-byte modifications of the ciphertext produced accepted, altered plaintext with no exception raised. Reachability is a property of the message rather than of attacker-supplied input: the AEAD shape held for 3 of 131 consecutive payload lengths measured, and the SEIPD version 1 shape for one payload length in sixteen, at a truncation offset that did not move with the payload length. The low-level API is unaffected, a caller that invokes PGPEncryptedData.verify() directly getting the check regardless, as are consumers reading in increments of a whole AEAD chunk or more. The AEAD decryption streams now re-throw such an EOFException as a plain IOException, which nextPacketTag() does not launder; OpenPGPMessageInputStream.close() now closes its layer's integrity-protected stream itself rather than relying on that stream having seen the end of its data; and IntegrityProtectedInputStream.close() was made idempotent, as java.io.Closeable requires, which that depends on, since the stream is genuinely closed twice on the ordinary path and PGPEncryptedData.verify() consumes the digest state behind it and cannot be run a second time. This issue also affects Bouncy Castle for Java LTS before 2.73.13, on the AEAD route only, as that edition does not ship the high-level OpenPGP API the SEIPDv1 route runs through. It also affects Bouncy Castle for Java FIPS (BC-FJA) before bcpg-fips 1.0.14 (1.0.X series), 2.0.14.1 (2.0.X series) and 2.1.14 (2.1.X series), on the AEAD route only, as those editions do not ship the high-level OpenPGP API.
Descrição oficial em inglês (tradução ainda não revisada).
Quem explora e qual a prioridade
Nota de 0 a 100 que combina exploração confirmada, uso por ransomware e grupos APT, exploits públicos, EPSS e severidade.
Como a nota foi calculada
- EPSS 0.2% (probabilidade de exploração em 30 dias)+1
- Severidade técnica (high)+6
A nota ordena a fila de correção; não substitui o contexto dos seus ativos (exposição à internet, criticidade, compensações).
Triagem
Está sendo explorada, qual a probabilidade de exploração, o que afeta e qual a severidade segundo as fontes.
Avaliação SSVC da CISA CISA
Três pontos de decisão que a CISA publica para as CVEs que avalia (SSVC 2.0.3). Uma decisão de priorização, não uma nota de severidade.
Remediação
Correções e mitigações documentadas pelas fontes — com link para o aviso original.
Nenhuma correção documentada pelas fontes consultadas. Isso não significa que não exista: verifique o aviso do fabricante.
Primeiras 24 horas
Ordenado a partir dos próprios campos do registro — exposição primeiro, porque não se corrige o que não se encontrou. Ponto de partida, gerado por regras.
- Identifique ativos expostos que executam as combinações de fabricante/produto/versão afetadas (Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. BC-FJA, Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. BC-JAVA, Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. BC-LTS-JAVA).
- O ataque é pela rede e não exige privilégios: restrinja a exposição (ACLs, VPN, WAF) até corrigir.
- Nenhuma correção documentada nas fontes: reduza a exposição e monitore o aviso do fabricante.
- Procure nos logs disponíveis sinais de tentativa de exploração compatíveis com a classe da falha (integridade), erros e anomalias de autenticação.
Escopo afetado
Fabricante, produto e versões como as fontes os descrevem.
| Fabricante | Produto | Versões | Status | Fonte |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. | BC-FJA | ≥ 1.0.7 e < 1.0.14≥ 2.0.7 e < 2.0.14.1≥ 2.1.0 e < 2.1.14 | Vulnerável | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. | BC-JAVA | ≥ 1.74 e < 1.86 | Vulnerável | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc. | BC-LTS-JAVA | ≥ 2.73.0 e < 2.73.13 | Vulnerável | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Características do ataque
O vetor CVSS decodificado. Descreve o ataque, não a sua exposição a ele.
Todas as pontuações coletadas
As fontes pontuam de forma independente e podem discordar; cada linha diz quem pontuou e em qual versão.
| Nota | Versão | Severidade | Explor. | Impacto | Pontuado por |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8.2 | CVSS 4.0 | Alta | — | — | 91579145-5d7b-4cc5-b925-a0262ff19630 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 8.2 | CVSS 4.0 | Alta | — | — | bcorg via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:N/VC:N/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:Amber (nota exibida no topo: 91579145-5d7b-4cc5-b925-a0262ff19630) Fraqueza MITRE
Classe de fraqueza segundo o catálogo CWE do MITRE.
EPSS ao longo do tempo FIRST
13/10/2026 → 14/10/2026 · 2 leitura(s) · máximo 0.16%
Detecção
Derivado do vetor CVSS e da classe da fraqueza. Pontos de partida, não regras testadas.
- Priorize telemetria de borda para o componente exposto na rede (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Linha do tempo
O que aconteceu com esta CVE, do mais recente ao mais antigo.
- 2026
- Produtos afetados adicionados · legion of the bouncy castle inc./bc-java, legion of the bouncy castle inc./bc-lts-java, legion of the bouncy castle inc.
- Avaliação SSVC atualizada
- Ficha publicada
- CVSS alterado · 8.2
- Status na fonte alterado · → Awaiting Analysis
- Registro criado nesta base
- CVE publicada
Atividade das fontes
Leituras que se repetem foram contadas em vez de listadas.
- 1× Descrição oficial atualizada · 13/10/2026 – 13/10/2026
Referências
2 no registro
Em outras páginas do site
CVEs relacionadas (mesmos produtos)
- Alta CVE-2026-71884 Packet CTR reports a full success length after the counter is exhausted 6 d
- Média CVE-2026-97873 Legacy PBES1 and PKCS#12 PBE iteration count honoured unbounded in the raw JCA provider 12 d
- Alta CVE-2026-71891 BLS12-381 key validation accepts a public key built on a foreign curve 12 d
- Alta CVE-2026-71889 PKIXCertPathReviewer does not apply X.509 name constraints to the target certificate 12 d
- Média CVE-2026-71892 CMS key-transport recipient key-size validation never runs for RFC 9709 HKDF-derived keys 12 d
- Alta CVE-2026-71890 MLS external commit can remove an arbitrary group member 12 d
Não consta em nenhuma fonte consultada
Listado em vez de deixado em branco: um campo vazio e um não medido parecem iguais na tela, e só um deles é motivo para procurar em outro lugar.
- Nenhuma versão corrigida, patch ou mitigação documentada.
- Nenhum IOC confirmado (IPs, domínios, hashes ou artefatos de malware) fornecido.
- Nenhum inventário de ativos, controle compensatório ou evidência de implantação de patch da sua organização.
- Nenhuma captura de tráfego de exploração, amostra de log ou caso de incidente.
Respondido a partir deste registro
Texto montado apenas com os campos acima — sem afirmações adicionais.
O que os defensores devem saber primeiro?
CVE-2026-85515 é "OpenPGP message truncation not reported, bypassing the SEIPDv1 integrity check", de severidade Alta. Afeta BC-FJA (Legion of the Bouncy Castle Inc.); as versões estão na tabela de escopo. Não está na CISA KEV, o que não exclui exploração. CVSS 8.2 descreve a severidade técnica. EPSS 0.16% estima a probabilidade de exploração em 30 dias; nenhum dos dois substitui o contexto dos seus ativos. Verifique primeiro se ativos expostos ou críticos executam as versões afetadas, aplique as correções ou mitigações do fabricante e preserve logs para análise.
Comentários
Discussão técnica moderada. Leia as regras da comunidade.
Nenhum comentário ainda.
Entre ou crie uma conta para comentar e sugerir correções.