CVE-2010-2568 — Microsoft Windows Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Windows Shell in Microsoft Windows XP SP3, Server 2003 SP2, Vista SP1 and SP2, Server 2008 SP2 and R2, and Windows 7 allows local users or remote attackers to execute arbitrary code via a crafted (1) .LNK or (2) .PIF shortcut file, which is not properly handled during icon display in Windows Explorer, as demonstrated in the wild in July 2010, and originally reported for malware that leverages CVE-2010-2772 in Siemens WinCC SCADA systems.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (metasploit, exploitdb)+20
- EPSS 91.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — www.kb.cert.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — docs.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Oct 6, 2022 — passed 1470 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Windows 7, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Microsoft Windows Server 2008…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | Windows 7 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Windows Server 2003 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Windows Server 2008 | versions not specified by the sourceversion r2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Windows Vista | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Windows Xp | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 9.3 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 8.6 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0) CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Microsoft Windows Shell LNK Code Execution excellent Jul 16, 2010
- Microsoft Windows Shell LNK Code Execution excellent Jul 16, 2010
- Microsoft Windows - Automatic .LNK Shortcut File Code Execution verified Jul 18, 2010
- Microsoft Windows - Shell LNK Code Execution (MS10-046) (Metasploit) verified Sep 21, 2010
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 91.32%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Sep 15, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/windows 7, microsoft/windows server 2003, microsoft/windows server 2008, microsoft/windows vista, microsoft/wi
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2010
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
18 on the record
- secunia.com/advisories/40647
- www.microsoft.com/technet/security/advisory/2286198.mspx
- www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/940193
- docs.microsoft.com/en-us/security-updates/securitybulletins/2010/ms10-046
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- www.geoffchappell.com/notes/security/stuxnet/ctrlfldr.htm
- isc.sans.edu/diary.html
- www.us-cert.gov/cas/techalerts/TA10-222A.html
- www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/new_rootkit_en.pdf
- krebsonsecurity.com/2010/07/experts-warn-of-new-windows-shortcut-flaw
- isc.sans.edu/diary.html
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2010-2568
- securitytracker.com/id
- krebsonsecurity.com/2010/07/experts-warn-of-new-windows-shortcut-flaw/
- www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/00001986.html
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-6j7w-pxhr-g4pr
- oval.cisecurity.org/repository/search/definition/oval%3Aorg.mitre.oval%3Adef%3A11564
- www.securityfocus.com/bid/41732
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-20940 Windows Cloud Files Mini Filter Driver Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
- High CVE-2026-20931 Windows Telephony Service Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-20936 Windows NDIS Information Disclosure Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-20925 NTLM Hash Disclosure Spoofing Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
- High CVE-2026-20929 Windows HTTP.sys Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-20927 Windows SMB Server Denial of Service Vulnerability Jan 13, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CWE classification.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2010-2568 is "Microsoft Windows Remote Code Execution Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Windows 7 (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 91.32% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.