CVE-2015-1187 — D-Link and TRENDnet Multiple Devices Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
The ping tool in multiple D-Link and TRENDnet devices allow remote attackers to execute arbitrary code via the ping_addr parameter to ping.ccp.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (metasploit, exploitdb)+20
- EPSS 82.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (critical)+10
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented mitigation — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
The impacted product is end-of-life and should be disconnected if still in use.
US federal deadline: Apr 15, 2022 — passed 1644 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Dlink Dir-626l Firmware, Dlink Dir-636l Firmware, Dlink Dir-651 Firmware…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the documented mitigations until a definitive fix is available.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (authentication), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dlink | Dir-626l Firmware | version 1.04-b04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-636l Firmware | version 1.04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-651 Firmware | version 1.10na-b02 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-808l Firmware | version 1.03-b05 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-810l Firmware | version 1.01-b04version 2.02-b01 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-820l Firmware | version 1.05-b03version 2.01-b02version 1.02-b10 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-826l Firmware | version 1.00-b23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-830l Firmware | version 1.00-b07 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dir-836l Firmware | version 1.01-b03 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-651br Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-652br Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-711br Firmware | version 1.00-b31 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-731br Firmware | version 2.01-b01 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-810dr Firmware | version 1.00-b19 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Trendnet | Tew-813dru Firmware | version 1.00-b23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 10.0 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 10.0 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- D-Link/TRENDnet NCC Service Command Injection normal Feb 26, 2015
- D-Link/TRENDnet - NCC Service Command Injection (Metasploit) verified Feb 26, 2015
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 82.86%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Review authentication logs: logins without MFA, anomalous sessions and recently created accounts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Mar 25, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · dlink/dir-626l firmware, dlink/dir-636l firmware, dlink/dir-808l firmware, dlink/dir-810l firmware, dlink/dir-820l firmw
- CVSS changed · 9.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2017
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
7 on the record
- securityadvisories.dlink.com/security/publication.aspx
- github.com/darkarnium/secpub/tree/master/Multivendor/ncc2
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/131465/D-Link-TRENDnet-NCC-Service-Command-Injection.html
- www.securityfocus.com/bid/72848
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/130607/D-Link-DIR636L-Remote-Command-Injection.html
- seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2015/Mar/15
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2025-52079 Improper Access Control in Dlink Dir-820l Firmware Oct 21, 2025
- Critical CVE-2023-25280 D-Link DIR-820 Router OS Command Injection Vulnerability KEV Mar 15, 2023
- Critical CVE-2022-26258 D-Link DIR-820L Remote Code Execution Vulnerability KEV Mar 27, 2022
- Critical CVE-2021-45382 D-Link Multiple Routers Remote Code Execution Vulnerability KEV Feb 17, 2022
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2015-1187 is "D-Link and TRENDnet Multiple Devices Remote Code Execution Vulnerability", rated Critical. It affects Dir-626l Firmware (Dlink); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 82.86% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.