CVE-2016-0025 — Microsoft Word 2007 SP3, Office 2010 SP2, Word 2010 SP2, Word 2013 SP1, Word 2013 RT SP1, Office...
Microsoft Word 2007 SP3, Office 2010 SP2, Word 2010 SP2, Word 2013 SP1, Word 2013 RT SP1, Office 2016, Word 2016, Word for Mac 2011, Word 2016 for Mac, Office Compatibility Pack SP3, Word Automation Services on SharePoint Server 2010 SP2, Word Automation Services on SharePoint Server 2013 SP1, Office Web Apps 2010 SP2, Office Web Apps Server 2013 SP1, and Office Online Server allow remote attackers to execute arbitrary code via a crafted Office document, aka "Microsoft Office Memory Corruption Vulnerability."
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 16.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Office, Microsoft Office Compatibility Pack, Microsoft Office Online Server…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- EPSS ahead of 97% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (input validation), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | Office | version 2010-sp2version 2016 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Office Compatibility Pack | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Office Online Server | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Office Web Apps | version 2010-sp2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Office Web Apps Server | version 2013-sp1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Sharepoint Server | version 2010-sp2version 2013-sp1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Word | version 2007-sp3version 2010-sp2version 2013-sp1version 2016 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Word For Mac | version 2011version 2016 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.3 | CVSS 3.0 | High | 1.3 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.3 | CVSS 3.0 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 9.3 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 8.6 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.0/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · microsoft/office, microsoft/office compatibility pack, microsoft/office online server, microsoft/office web apps, micros
- CVSS changed · 7.3
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2016
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
References
4 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-97783 Microsoft Office SharePoint Spoofing Vulnerability 1d
- High CVE-2026-97780 Microsoft Office Excel Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1d
- Medium CVE-2026-97782 Microsoft Office SharePoint Tampering Vulnerability 1d
- High CVE-2026-97776 Microsoft Office Excel Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1d
- High CVE-2026-97777 Microsoft Office Excel Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1d
- High CVE-2026-97775 Microsoft Office Excel Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2016-0025 is "Microsoft Word 2007 SP3, Office 2010 SP2, Word 2010 SP2, Word 2013 SP1, Word 2013 RT SP1, Office...", rated High. It affects Office (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 16.72% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.