CVE-2017-5689 — Intel Active Management Technology (AMT), Small Business Technology (SBT), and Standard Manageability Privilege Escalation Vulnerability
An unprivileged network attacker could gain system privileges to provisioned Intel manageability SKUs: Intel Active Management Technology (AMT) and Intel Standard Manageability (ISM). An unprivileged local attacker could provision manageability features gaining unprivileged network or local system privileges on Intel manageability SKUs: Intel Active Management Technology (AMT), Intel Standard Manageability (ISM), and Intel Small Business Technology (SBT).
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (nuclei, metasploit, exploitdb)+20
- EPSS 92.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (critical)+10
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — security-center.intel.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Jul 28, 2022 — passed 1540 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Hpe Proliant Ml10 Gen9 Server Firmware, Intel Active Management Technology Firmware, Intel Intel Active Mangement Technology, Intel Small Business Technology, Intel Standard Manageability…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (privilege escalation), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hpe | Proliant Ml10 Gen9 Server Firmware | version 5.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Intel | Active Management Technology Firmware |
version 6.0version 6.1version 6.2version 7.0version 7.1version 8.0version 8.1version 9.0 and 6 moreversion 9.1version 9.5version 10.0version 11.0version 11.5version 11.6 |
Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Intel | Intel Active Mangement Technology, Intel Small Business Technology, Intel Standard Manageability | version fixed in versions 6.2.61.3535, 7.1.91.3272, 8.1.71.3608, 9.1.41.3024, 10.0.55.30 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Siemens | Simatic Field Pg M3 Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Field Pg M4 Firmware | < 18.01.06 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Field Pg M5 Firmware | < 22.01.03 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc427d Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc427e Firmware | < 21.01.05 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc477d Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc477e Firmware | < 21.01.05 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc547d Firmware | < 7.1.91.3272 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc547e Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc547g Firmware | < 11.0.26.3000 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc627c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc627d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc647c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc647d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc677c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc677d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc827c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc827d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc847c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Ipc847d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Itp1000 Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc427e Firmware | versions not specified by the source< 21.01.04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc477d Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc547d Firmware | < 7.1.91.3272 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc547e Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc547g Firmware | < 11.0.26.3000 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc627c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc647c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc647d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc677c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc847c Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic Pcs 7 Ipc847d Firmware | < 9.1.41.3024 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simotion P320-4 S Firmware | < 17.02.06.83.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Sinumerik Pcu50.5-p Firmware | < 6.2.61.3535 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 10.0 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 10.0 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Intel AMT Digest Authentication Bypass Scanner normal May 5, 2017
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 92.19%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Jan 28, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · intel corporation/intel active mangement technology, intel small business technology, intel standard manageability
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · hpe/proliant ml10 gen9 server firmware, siemens/simatic itp1000 firmware, siemens/simatic ipc847d firmware, siemens/sima
- CVSS changed · 9.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2017
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
15 on the record
- www.oracle.com/technetwork/security-advisory/cpujul2017-3236622.html
- security-center.intel.com/advisory.aspx
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20170509-0001
- www.securitytracker.com/id/1038385
- www.securityfocus.com/bid/98269
- www.embedi.com/files/white-papers/Silent-Bob-is-Silent.pdf
- www.tenable.com/blog/rediscovering-the-intel-amt-vulnerability
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-874235.pdf
- h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public/display
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2017-5689
- www.embedi.com/news/mythbusters-cve-2017-5689
- downloadmirror.intel.com/26754/eng/INTEL-SA-00075%20Mitigation%20Guide-Rev%201.1.pdf
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-v6j9-wwcx-4984
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20170509-0001/
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2020-8670 Race condition in the firmware for some Intel(R) Processors may allow a privileged user to... Jun 9, 2021
- Medium CVE-2020-12357 Improper initialization in the firmware for some Intel(R) Processors may allow a privileged user... Jun 9, 2021
- Medium CVE-2020-12358 Out of bounds write in the firmware for some Intel(R) Processors may allow a privileged user to... Jun 9, 2021
- High CVE-2020-12360 Out-of-bounds Read in Intel Bios Jun 9, 2021
- Medium CVE-2020-24486 Improper Input Validation in Intel Bios Jun 9, 2021
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2017-5689 is "Intel Active Management Technology (AMT), Small Business Technology (SBT), and Standard Manageability Privilege Escalation Vulnerability", rated Critical. It affects Proliant Ml10 Gen9 Server Firmware (Hpe); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 92.19% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.