CVE-2019-13272 — Linux Kernel Improper Privilege Management Vulnerability
In the Linux kernel before 5.1.17, ptrace_link in kernel/ptrace.c mishandles the recording of the credentials of a process that wants to create a ptrace relationship, which allows local users to obtain root access by leveraging certain scenarios with a parent-child process relationship, where a parent drops privileges and calls execve (potentially allowing control by an attacker). One contributing factor is an object lifetime issue (which can also cause a panic). Another contributing factor is incorrect marking of a ptrace relationship as privileged, which is exploitable through (for example) Polkit's pkexec helper with PTRACE_TRACEME. NOTE: SELinux deny_ptrace might be a usable workaround in some environments.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (metasploit, exploitdb)+20
- EPSS 52.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — bugs.chromium.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — bugzilla.redhat.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — bugzilla.suse.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — cdn.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Jun 10, 2022 — passed 1588 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Canonical Ubuntu Linux, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 99% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canonical | Ubuntu Linux | version 16.04version 18.04version 19.04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Debian | Debian Linux | version 8.0version 9.0version 10.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 29 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Linux | Linux Kernel | ≥ 4.4.40 and < 4.4.185≥ 4.20 and < 5.1.17≥ 4.15 and < 4.19.58≥ 4.10 and < 4.14.133≥ 4.9.1 and < 4.9.185≥ 4.8.16 and < 4.9≥ 4.1.39 and < 4.2≥ 3.16.52 and < 3.16.71 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Aff A700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | E-series Performance Analyzer | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | E-series Santricity Os Controller | ≥ 11.0.0 and ≤ 11.60.3 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410c Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H610s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Hci Compute Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Hci Management Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Service Processor | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Steelstore Cloud Integrated Storage | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux | version 7.0version 8.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Arm 64 | version 7.0_aarch64 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Ibm Z Systems | version 7.0_s390x | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Real Time | version 8 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Real Time For Nfv | version 8.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Real Time For Nfv Tus | version 8.8version 8.6version 8.4version 8.2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Real Time Tus | version 8.8version 8.6version 8.4version 8.2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 7.2 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 3.9 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Linux Polkit pkexec helper PTRACE_TRACEME local root exploit excellent Jul 4, 2019
- Linux - Broken Permission and Object Lifetime Handling for PTRACE_TRACEME verified Jul 17, 2019
- Linux Kernel 4.10 < 5.1.17 - 'PTRACE_TRACEME' pkexec Local Privilege Escalation Jul 24, 2019
- Linux Polkit - pkexec helper PTRACE_TRACEME local root (Metasploit) verified Oct 24, 2019
- Linux Kernel 5.1.x - 'PTRACE_TRACEME' pkexec Local Privilege Escalation (2) Nov 23, 2021
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 52.20%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Dec 10, 2021 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · linux/linux kernel, debian/debian linux, fedoraproject/fedora, canonical/ubuntu linux, redhat/enterprise linux, redhat/e
- Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Published
- SSVC assessment updated
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2019
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 3× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
41 on the record
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/6994eefb0053799d2e07cd140df6c2ea106c41ee
- cdn.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v5.x/ChangeLog-5.1.17
- bugs.chromium.org/p/project-zero/issues/detail
- git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/
- bugzilla.suse.com/show_bug.cgi
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- www.debian.org/security/2019/dsa-4484
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/153663/Linux-PTRACE_TRACEME-Broken-Permission-Object-Lifetime-H
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/153702/Slackware-Security-Advisory-Slackware-14.2-kernel-Update
- usn.ubuntu.com/4093-1
- usn.ubuntu.com/4118-1
- usn.ubuntu.com/4095-1
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2019:2809
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2019:2405
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2019/07/msg00022.html
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/156929/Linux-PTRACE_TRACEME-Local-Root.html
- support.f5.com/csp/article/K91025336
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2019:2411
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OGRK5L
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OGRK
- usn.ubuntu.com/4118-1/
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20190806-0001
- seclists.org/bugtraq/2019/Jul/30
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-87j5-gppq-mq6h
- support.f5.com/csp/article/K91025336
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20190806-0001/
- usn.ubuntu.com/4093-1/
- support.f5.com/csp/article/K91025336
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2019/07/msg00023.html
- usn.ubuntu.com/4095-1/
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OGRK
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2019-13272
- seclists.org/bugtraq/2019/Jul/33
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/165051/Linux-Kernel-5.1.x-PTRACE_TRACEME-pkexec-Local-Privilege
- usn.ubuntu.com/4117-1
- usn.ubuntu.com/4094-1
- usn.ubuntu.com/4117-1/
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/154245/Kernel-Live-Patch-Security-Notice-LSN-0054-1.html
- packetstormsecurity.com/files/154957/Linux-Polkit-pkexec-Helper-PTRACE_TRACEME-Local-Root.htm
- usn.ubuntu.com/4094-1/
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-104045 Sssd: sssd: denial of service via race condition in autofs responder 9d
- Medium CVE-2026-104046 Sssd: sssd: denial of service via incomplete identity provider authentication requests 9d
- High CVE-2026-104048 Sssd: sssd: authorization bypass via cross-domain username collision in hbac evaluation 9d
- Medium CVE-2026-104047 Sssd: sssd: information disclosure via query injection in entra id lookups 9d
- High CVE-2026-102558 Libsoup: libsoup: heap buffer overflow during websocket receive-buffer growth 16d
- High CVE-2026-102555 Libsoup: libsoup: heap buffer overflow via uninitialized length in data-uri base64 decoding 16d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CWE classification.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2019-13272 is "Linux Kernel Improper Privilege Management Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Ubuntu Linux (Canonical); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 52.20% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.