CVE Intelligence
Medium exploit reference

CVE-2019-6110 — In OpenSSH 7.9, due to accepting and displaying arbitrary stderr output from the server, a...

In OpenSSH 7.9, due to accepting and displaying arbitrary stderr output from the server, a malicious server (or Man-in-The-Middle attacker) can manipulate the client output, for example to use ANSI control codes to hide additional files being transferred.

Published Jan 31, 2019 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: mitre

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Public exploit/PoC (exploitdb)+8
  • EPSS 24.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (medium)+3
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
24.9%
ahead of 98% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Netapp
Element Software and 6 more
CVSS base
6.8
Medium · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Netapp Element Software, Netapp Ontap Select Deploy, Netapp Storage Automation Store…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  5. EPSS ahead of 98% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  6. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Netapp Element Software versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Ontap Select Deploy versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Storage Automation Store versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Openbsd Openssh ≤ 7.9 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Siemens Scalance X204rna Eec Firmware < 3.2.7 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Siemens Scalance X204rna Firmware < 3.2.7 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Winscp Winscp ≤ 5.13 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.6 5.2 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.6 5.2 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
6.8 CVSS 3.0 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
4.0 CVSS 2.0 Medium 4.9 4.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-838

Other CVEs with this weakness →

Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates

Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.

Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 24.90%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · openbsd/openssh, winscp/winscp, netapp/element software, netapp/ontap select deploy, netapp/storage automation store, si
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 6.8
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2019
  • CVE published
    Jan 31, 2019 · mitre

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

13 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Netapp
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-838
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-106583 In ssh in OpenSSH before 10.6, a $ or \ character can occur in a command-line username, leading... 8d
  • Low CVE-2026-106588 In sshd in OpenSSH through 10.6, use of the macOS 27 (or later) SDK has the side effect… 9d
  • Low CVE-2026-106587 Type Confusion in Openbsd Openssh 9d
  • Low CVE-2026-106589 In sshd in OpenSSH through 10.6, in certain environments such as QNX 6 and SCO… 9d
  • Medium CVE-2026-106585 In sshd and ssh in OpenSSH before 10.6, there is no check for whether the maximum packet length... 9d
  • Low CVE-2026-106584 In ssh-keygen in OpenSSH before 10.6, certificates could have incorrect expiration times… 9d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2019-6110 is "In OpenSSH 7.9, due to accepting and displaying arbitrary stderr output from the server, a...", rated Medium. It affects Element Software (Netapp); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 24.90% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.