CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV Medium Memory corruption

CVE-2020-0878 — Microsoft Edge and Internet Explorer Memory Corruption Vulnerability

<p>A remote code execution vulnerability exists in the way that Microsoft browsers access objects in memory. The vulnerability could corrupt memory in a way that could allow an attacker to execute arbitrary code in the context of the current user. An attacker who successfully exploited the vulnerability could gain the same user rights as the current user. If the current user is logged on with administrative user rights, the attacker could take control of an affected system. An attacker could then install programs; view, change, or delete data; or create new accounts with full user rights.</p> <p>An attacker could host a specially crafted website that is designed to exploit the vulnerability through Microsoft browsers, and then convince a user to view the website. The attacker could also take advantage of compromised websites, or websites that accept or host user-provided content or advertisements, by adding specially crafted content that could exploit the vulnerability. In all cases, however, an attacker would have no way to force users to view the attacker-controlled content. Instead, an attacker would have to convince users to take action, typically via an enticement in email or instant message, or by getting them to open an email attachment.</p> <p>The security update addresses the vulnerability by modifying how Microsoft browsers handle objects in memory.</p>

Published Sep 11, 2020 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: microsoft

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • Used in ransomware campaigns (CISA)+10
  • EPSS 2.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+13
  • Technical severity (medium)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Nov 3, 2021
EPSS FIRST
2.7%
ahead of 86% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Microsoft
Chakracore and 5 more
CVSS base
4.2
Medium · 4 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 7.5 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

CISA required action CISA

Apply updates per vendor instructions.

US federal deadline: May 3, 2022 — passed 1626 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Chakracore, Microsoft Edge, Microsoft Internet Explorer…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  4. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  5. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  6. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Microsoft Chakracore versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Chakracore < publication Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Edge versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Internet Explorer version 11version 9 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Internet Explorer 11 ≥ 1.0.0 and < publication Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Internet Explorer 9 ≥ 1.0.0 and < publication Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Microsoft Edge (EdgeHTML-based) ≥ 1.0..0 and < publication Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
Low
Integrity
Low
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 1.6 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
4.2 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.6 2.5 secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
4.2 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
4.2 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
5.1 CVSS 2.0 Medium 4.9 6.4 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:N (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 7.5 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-787 · Out-of-bounds Write

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Nov 3, 2021
Federal deadline
May 3, 2022
passed 1626 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Known

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 2.70%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Nov 3, 2021 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSendpoint telemetry (EDR)crash dumps

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · microsoft/chakracore, microsoft/microsoft edge (edgehtml-based), microsoft/internet explorer 9, microsoft/internet explo
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · microsoft/internet explorer, microsoft/edge, microsoft/chakracore
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 4.2
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2021
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Nov 2, 2021 · CISA
  • 2020
  • CVE published
    Sep 11, 2020 · microsoft

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

4 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Microsoft
every CVE for this vendor
2021-11
what else CISA listed that month
CWE-787
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-70341 Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) Remote Code Execution Vulnerability Sep 11, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-35429 Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) for Android Spoofing Vulnerability May 12, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-33119 Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) for Android Spoofing Vulnerability Apr 10, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-26133 M365 Copilot Information Disclosure Vulnerability Mar 16, 2026
  • Low CVE-2025-62224 Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) for Android Spoofing Vulnerability Jan 7, 2026
  • Critical CVE-2024-7971 Google Chromium V8 Type Confusion Vulnerability KEV Aug 21, 2024

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2020-0878 is "Microsoft Edge and Internet Explorer Memory Corruption Vulnerability", rated Medium. It affects Chakracore (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 4.2 describes technical severity. EPSS 2.70% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.