CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV Medium Memory corruption exploit reference

CVE-2020-11899 — Treck TCP/IP stack Out-of-Bounds Read Vulnerability

The Treck TCP/IP stack before 6.0.1.66 has an IPv6 Out-of-bounds Read.

Published Jun 17, 2020 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, NIST National Vulnerability Database, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: mitre

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • EPSS 18.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (medium)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Mar 3, 2022
EPSS FIRST
18.42%
ahead of 97% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Dell
Wyse 5030 Firmware and 3 more
CVSS base
5.4
Medium · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Documented mitigation — www.kb.cert.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)

CISA required action CISA

Apply updates per vendor instructions.

US federal deadline: Mar 17, 2022 — passed 1673 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Dell Wyse 5030 Firmware, Dell Wyse 5050 All-in-one Firmware, Dell Wyse 7030 Firmware…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. Apply the documented mitigations until a definitive fix is available.
  4. EPSS ahead of 97% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Dell Wyse 5030 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Dell Wyse 5050 All-in-one Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Dell Wyse 7030 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Treck Tcp/ip < 6.0.1.66 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Adjacent
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
None
Integrity
Low
Availability
Low

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium 2.8 2.5 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium 2.8 2.5 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
4.8 CVSS 2.0 Medium 6.5 4.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:A/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:L (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-125 · Out-of-bounds Read

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Mar 3, 2022
Federal deadline
Mar 17, 2022
passed 1673 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Unknown

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 18.42%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Mar 3, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
endpoint telemetry (EDR)crash dumps

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · treck/tcp/ip, dell/wyse 5050 all-in-one firmware, dell/wyse 7030 firmware, dell/wyse 5030 firmware
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 5.4
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Source status changed · → Published
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2022
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Mar 2, 2022 · CISA
  • 2020
  • CVE published
    Jun 17, 2020 · mitre

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 3× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

17 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Dell
every CVE for this vendor
2022-03
what else CISA listed that month
CWE-125
other pages naming this weakness

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2020-11899 is "Treck TCP/IP stack Out-of-Bounds Read Vulnerability", rated Medium. It affects Wyse 5030 Firmware (Dell); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 5.4 describes technical severity. EPSS 18.42% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.