CVE-2020-13776 — systemd through v245 mishandles numerical usernames such as ones composed of decimal digits or 0x...
systemd through v245 mishandles numerical usernames such as ones composed of decimal digits or 0x followed by hex digits, as demonstrated by use of root privileges when privileges of the 0x0 user account were intended. NOTE: this issue exists because of an incomplete fix for CVE-2017-1000082.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+6
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Fedoraproject Fedora, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager, Netapp Solidfire & Hci Management Node…).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (privilege escalation), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 32 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire & Hci Management Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Systemd Project | Systemd | ≤ 245 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 0.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 0.8 | 5.9 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 6.2 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 1.9 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.46%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · systemd project/systemd, netapp/active iq unified manager, netapp/solidfire & hci management node, fedoraproject/fedora
- CVSS changed · 6.7
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2020
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
9 on the record
- github.com/systemd/systemd/issues/15985
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/IYGL
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20200611-0003/
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/IYGL
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20200611-0003
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-g2fm-j5p3-x5h7
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2020-13776
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/IYGLFE
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-54230 Abrt: event handler scripts follow symlinks when writing output files, allowing arbitrary file overwrites Jun 13, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-54231 Abrt: unsanitized systemd journal content written to dump directory files enables content injection Jun 13, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-40226 In nspawn in systemd 233 through 259 before 260, an escape-to-host action can occur via… Apr 10, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-40227 In systemd 260 before 261, a local unprivileged user can trigger an assert via an IPC… Apr 10, 2026
- Low CVE-2026-40228 Incorrect Resource Transfer Between Spheres in Systemd Project Systemd Apr 10, 2026
- High CVE-2026-40224 Incorrect Authorization in Systemd Project Systemd Apr 10, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2020-13776 is "systemd through v245 mishandles numerical usernames such as ones composed of decimal digits or 0x...", rated Medium. It affects Fedora (Fedoraproject); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.7 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.46% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.