CVE Intelligence
High Injection exploit reference

CVE-2020-15778 — scp in OpenSSH through 8.3p1 allows command injection in scp.c remote function, as demonstrated...

scp in OpenSSH through 8.3p1 allows command injection in the scp.c toremote function, as demonstrated by backtick characters in the destination argument. NOTE: the vendor reportedly has stated that they intentionally omit validation of "anomalous argument transfers" because that could "stand a great chance of breaking existing workflows."

Published Jul 24, 2020 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: mitre

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 13.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
13.68%
ahead of 96% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Broadcom
Fabric Operating System and 8 more
CVSS base
7.4
High · 4 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 7.8 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Broadcom Fabric Operating System, Netapp A700s Firmware, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager…).
  2. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  3. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  4. EPSS ahead of 96% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Broadcom Fabric Operating System versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp A700s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager ≥ 9.5 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Compute Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Management Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Storage Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Solidfire versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Steelstore Cloud Integrated Storage versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Openbsd Openssh < 8.3version 8.3version 8.3-p1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Adjacent
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
Low
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.8 CVSS 3.1 High 1.8 5.9 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
7.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
7.4 CVSS 3.1 High 1.5 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.8 CVSS 2.0 Medium 8.6 6.4 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:A/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 7.8 (CISA ADP via NIST National Vulnerability Database) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-78 · OS Command Injection

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 13.68%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
application logsendpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Affected products added · openbsd/openssh, netapp/a700s firmware, netapp/active iq unified manager, netapp/hci management node, netapp/solidfire,
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 7.4
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2020
  • CVE published
    Jul 24, 2020 · mitre

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

11 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Broadcom
every CVE for this vendor
Injection
same class
CWE-78
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-94587 A buffer overflow vulnerability exists in the WebTools administrative interface handling... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94579 An OS command injection vulnerability exists in the PAM (Pluggable Authentication Module) session... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94577 A privilege escalation vulnerability exists in the internal Command-Line Interface (CLI)... 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-94581 An OS command injection vulnerability exists in the REST API management interface of Brocade... 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-94586 A command injection vulnerability exists in the WebTools administrative interface handling... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94585 An authentication bypass vulnerability exists in the web management interface of Brocade Fabric... 7d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2020-15778 is "scp in OpenSSH through 8.3p1 allows command injection in scp.c remote function, as demonstrated...", rated High. It affects Fabric Operating System (Broadcom); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.4 describes technical severity. EPSS 13.68% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.