CVE-2020-26116 — http.client in Python 3.x before 3.5.10, 3.6.x before 3.6.12, 3.7.x before 3.7.9, and 3.8.x...
http.client in Python 3.x before 3.5.10, 3.6.x before 3.6.12, 3.7.x before 3.7.9, and 3.8.x before 3.8.5 allows CRLF injection if the attacker controls the HTTP request method, as demonstrated by inserting CR and LF control characters in the first argument of HTTPConnection.request.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 6.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — bugs.python.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — python-security.readthedocs.io (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Canonical Ubuntu Linux, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 94% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canonical | Ubuntu Linux | version 12.04version 14.04version 16.04version 18.04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Debian | Debian Linux | version 9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 31version 32version 33 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Hci Storage Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Opensuse | Leap | version 15.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Zfs Storage Appliance Kit | version 8.8 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Python | Python | ≥ 3.0.0 and < 3.5.10≥ 3.6.0 and < 3.6.12≥ 3.7.0 and < 3.7.9≥ 3.8.0 and < 3.8.5 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 2.7 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 6.4 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 10.0 | 4.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:L/I:L/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 6.36%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 7.2
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2020
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
29 on the record
- bugs.python.org/issue39603
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuoct2021.html
- python-security.readthedocs.io/vuln/http-header-injection-method.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20201023-0001
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/HDQ2
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2020/11/msg00032.html
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JWMA
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202101-18
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OXI7
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/QOX7DG
- usn.ubuntu.com/4581-1
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2020-26116
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JWMA
- usn.ubuntu.com/4581-1/
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OXI7
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2023/05/msg00024.html
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/BW4G
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-w7gf-rpqw-gx4f
- lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-security-announce/2020-11/msg00027.html
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/QOX7
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/BW4GCL
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JWMAVY
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/QOX7
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20201023-0001/
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/HDQ2
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/BW4G
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/OXI72H
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/HDQ2TH
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-12996 A use-after-free in OpenVPN 2.6.0 through 2.6.20 and 2.7_alpha1 through 2.7.4 allows remote... Jul 30, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-4360 Tarfile.extract() doesn't fully respect filter parameter Jun 30, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-0864 Configuration Injection via Carriage Return (\r) in write() method Jun 23, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-56968 Use of Uninitialized Resource in Gnu Sasl Jun 23, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-54231 Abrt: unsanitized systemd journal content written to dump directory files enables content injection Jun 13, 2026
- High CVE-2026-54230 Abrt: event handler scripts follow symlinks when writing output files, allowing arbitrary file overwrites Jun 13, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2020-26116 is "http.client in Python 3.x before 3.5.10, 3.6.x before 3.6.12, 3.7.x before 3.7.9, and 3.8.x...", rated High. It affects Ubuntu Linux (Canonical); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.2 describes technical severity. EPSS 6.36% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.