CVE-2021-1647 — Microsoft Defender Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Microsoft Defender Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (github)+6
- EPSS 39.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — portal.msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Nov 17, 2021 — passed 1793 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Microsoft System Center 2012 Endpoint Protection, Microsoft Microsoft System Center 2012 R2 Endpoint Protection, Microsoft Security Essentials…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 99% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | Microsoft System Center 2012 Endpoint Protection | version N/A | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft System Center 2012 R2 Endpoint Protection | version N/A | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Security Essentials | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Security Essentials | version N/A | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | System Center Endpoint Protection | versions not specified by the sourceversion 2012version 2012-r2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | System Center Endpoint Protection | version N/A | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Windows Defender | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Windows Defender | version N/A | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 7.2 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 3.9 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com) CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- findcool/cve-2021-1647 ★ 1 Jan 23, 2021
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 39.39%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Nov 3, 2021 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · microsoft/microsoft system center endpoint protection, microsoft/microsoft system center 2012 r2 endpoint protection, mi
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/windows defender, microsoft/security essentials, microsoft/system center endpoint protection
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
5 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-70264 Microsoft Defender Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
- High CVE-2017-8540 Microsoft Malware Protection Engine Improper Restriction of Operations Vulnerability KEV May 26, 2017
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CWE classification.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-1647 is "Microsoft Defender Remote Code Execution Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Microsoft System Center 2012 Endpoint Protection (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 39.39% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.