CVE Intelligence
Medium Info disclosure exploit reference

CVE-2021-22876 — curl 7.1.1 to and including 7.75.0 is vulnerable to an "Exposure of Private Personal Information...

curl 7.1.1 to and including 7.75.0 is vulnerable to an "Exposure of Private Personal Information to an Unauthorized Actor" by leaking credentials in the HTTP Referer: header. libcurl does not strip off user credentials from the URL when automatically populating the Referer: HTTP request header field in outgoing HTTP requests, and therefore risks leaking sensitive data to the server that is the target of the second HTTP request.

Published Apr 1, 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: hackerone

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 5.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (medium)+3
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
5.3%
ahead of 92% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Broadcom
Fabric Operating System and 11 more
CVSS base
5.3
Medium · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Documented patch — cert-portal.siemens.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
  • Documented patch — curl.se (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
  • Documented patch — hackerone.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Broadcom Fabric Operating System, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. EPSS ahead of 92% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (info disclosure), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Broadcom Fabric Operating System versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Debian Debian Linux version 9.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Fedoraproject Fedora version 32version 33version 34 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Haxx Libcurl ≥ 7.1.1 and ≤ 7.75.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Compute Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Management Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Storage Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Solidfire versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Billing And Revenue Management version 12.0.0.3.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Essbase version 21.2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Siemens Sinec Infrastructure Network Services < 1.0.1.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Splunk Universal Forwarder ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
Low
Integrity
None
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium 3.9 1.4 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium 3.9 1.4 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
5.0 CVSS 2.0 Medium 10.0 2.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-200 · Exposure of Sensitive Information

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 5.30%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Look for anomalous data read/export volumes and access to sensitive records.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logsauthentication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · haxx/libcurl, fedoraproject/fedora, netapp/hci management node, netapp/solidfire, netapp/hci compute node, netapp/hci st
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 5.3
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2021
  • CVE published
    Apr 1, 2021 · hackerone

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

21 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Broadcom
every CVE for this vendor
Info disclosure
same class
CWE-200
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-94581 An OS command injection vulnerability exists in the REST API management interface of Brocade... 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-94587 A buffer overflow vulnerability exists in the WebTools administrative interface handling... 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-94586 A command injection vulnerability exists in the WebTools administrative interface handling... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94585 An authentication bypass vulnerability exists in the web management interface of Brocade Fabric... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94579 An OS command injection vulnerability exists in the PAM (Pluggable Authentication Module) session... 7d
  • High CVE-2026-94577 A privilege escalation vulnerability exists in the internal Command-Line Interface (CLI)... 7d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2021-22876 is "curl 7.1.1 to and including 7.75.0 is vulnerable to an "Exposure of Private Personal Information...", rated Medium. It affects Fabric Operating System (Broadcom); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 5.30% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.