CVE Intelligence
High Cryptography exploit reference

CVE-2021-22946 — A user can tell curl >= 7.20.0 and <= 7.78.0 to require a successful upgrade to TLS when speaking...

A user can tell curl >= 7.20.0 and <= 7.78.0 to require a successful upgrade to TLS when speaking to an IMAP, POP3 or FTP server (`--ssl-reqd` on the command line or`CURLOPT_USE_SSL` set to `CURLUSESSL_CONTROL` or `CURLUSESSL_ALL` withlibcurl). This requirement could be bypassed if the server would return a properly crafted but perfectly legitimate response.This flaw would then make curl silently continue its operations **withoutTLS** contrary to the instructions and expectations, exposing possibly sensitive data in clear text over the network.

Published Sep 29, 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: hackerone

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 4.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
4.54%
ahead of 91% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Apple
Macos and 28 more
CVSS base
7.5
High · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Apple Macos, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. EPSS ahead of 91% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (cryptography), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Apple Macos < 12.3 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Debian Debian Linux version 9.0version 10.0version 11.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Fedoraproject Fedora version 35version 33 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Haxx Curl ≥ 7.20.0 and < 7.79.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Cloud Backup versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Clustered Data Ontap versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H300e Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H300s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H500e Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H500s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H700e Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H700s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Oncommand Insight versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Oncommand Workflow Automation versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Snapcenter versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Solidfire Baseboard Management Controller Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Commerce Guided Search version 11.3.2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Binding Support Function version 22.1.3version 1.11.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Console version 22.2.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Network Function Cloud Native Environment version 1.10.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Network Repository Function version 1.15.0version 1.15.1version 22.1.0version 22.2.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Network Slice Selection Function version 1.8.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Security Edge Protection Proxy version 22.1.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Communications Cloud Native Core Service Communication Proxy version 1.15.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Mysql Server ≥ 5.7.0 and ≤ 5.7.35≥ 8.0.0 and ≤ 8.0.26 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools version 8.59version 8.58version 8.57 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Siemens Sinec Infrastructure Network Services < 1.0.1.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Splunk Universal Forwarder ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
None
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 3.9 3.6 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 3.9 3.6 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
5.0 CVSS 2.0 Medium 10.0 2.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-319 · Cleartext Transmission of Sensitive Information

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 4.54%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Check TLS negotiations and unexpected certificates in the component’s traffic.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · haxx/curl, debian/debian linux, fedoraproject/fedora, netapp/cloud backup, netapp/clustered data ontap, netapp/oncommand
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 7.5
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2021
  • CVE published
    Sep 29, 2021 · hackerone

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

27 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Apple
every CVE for this vendor
Cryptography
same class
CWE-319
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-86950 Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability KEV 17d
  • High CVE-2026-83014 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-83018 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-83016 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-83019 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-83015 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2021-22946 is "A user can tell curl >= 7.20.0 and <= 7.78.0 to require a successful upgrade to TLS when speaking...", rated High. It affects Macos (Apple); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 4.54% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.