CVE-2021-3450 — CA certificate check bypass with X509_V_FLAG_X509_STRICT
The X509_V_FLAG_X509_STRICT flag enables additional security checks of the certificates present in a certificate chain. It is not set by default. Starting from OpenSSL version 1.1.1h a check to disallow certificates in the chain that have explicitly encoded elliptic curve parameters was added as an additional strict check. An error in the implementation of this check meant that the result of a previous check to confirm that certificates in the chain are valid CA certificates was overwritten. This effectively bypasses the check that non-CA certificates must not be able to issue other certificates. If a "purpose" has been configured then there is a subsequent opportunity for checks that the certificate is a valid CA. All of the named "purpose" values implemented in libcrypto perform this check. Therefore, where a purpose is set the certificate chain will still be rejected even when the strict flag has been used. A purpose is set by default in libssl client and server certificate verification routines, but it can be overridden or removed by an application. In order to be affected, an application must explicitly set the X509_V_FLAG_X509_STRICT verification flag and either not set a purpose for the certificate verification or, in the case of TLS client or server applications, override the default purpose. OpenSSL versions 1.1.1h and newer are affected by this issue. Users of these versions should upgrade to OpenSSL 1.1.1k. OpenSSL 1.0.2 is not impacted by this issue. Fixed in OpenSSL 1.1.1k (Affected 1.1.1h-1.1.1j).
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 18.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Fedoraproject Fedora, Freebsd Freebsd, Mcafee Web Gateway…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 97% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (cryptography), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 34 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Freebsd | Freebsd | version 12.2version 12.2-p1version 12.2-p2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Mcafee | Web Gateway | version 9.2.10version 8.2.19version 10.1.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Mcafee | Web Gateway Cloud Service | version 8.2.19version 10.1.1version 9.2.10 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Cloud Volumes Ontap Mediator | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Oncommand Workflow Automation | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Ontap Select Deploy Administration Utility | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Santricity Smi-s Provider Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Storagegrid | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Storagegrid Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Nodejs | Node.js | ≥ 15.0.0 and < 15.14.0≥ 14.0.0 and < 14.16.1≥ 12.0.0 and < 12.22.1≥ 10.0.0 and < 10.24.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openssl | Openssl | ≥ 1.1.1h and < 1.1.1k | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openssl | Openssl | version Fixed in OpenSSL 1.1.1k (Affected 1.1.1h-1.1.1j) | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Oracle | Commerce Guided Search | version 11.3.2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Enterprise Manager For Storage Management | version 13.4.0.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Graalvm | version 21.0.0.2version 20.3.1.2version 19.3.5 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Jd Edwards Enterpriseone Tools | < 9.2.6.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Jd Edwards World Security | version a9.4 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Mysql Connectors | ≤ 8.0.23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Mysql Enterprise Monitor | ≤ 8.0.23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Mysql Server | ≤ 5.7.33≥ 8.0.15 and ≤ 8.0.23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Mysql Workbench | ≤ 8.0.23 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools | ≥ 8.57 and ≤ 8.59 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Secure Backup | < 18.1.0.1.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Secure Global Desktop | version 5.6 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Weblogic Server | version 14.1.1.0.0version 12.2.1.4.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Sonicwall | Capture Client | < 3.6.24 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Sonicwall | Email Security | < 10.0.11 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Sonicwall | Sma 100 Firmware | < 10.2.1.0-17sv | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Sonicwall | Sonicos | ≤ 7.0.1-r1456 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Tenable | Nessus | ≤ 8.13.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Tenable | Nessus Agent | ≥ 8.2.1 and ≤ 8.2.3 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Tenable | Nessus Network Monitor | version 5.13.0version 5.12.1version 5.12.0version 5.11.1version 5.11.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Windriver | Linux | versions not specified by the sourceversion 17.0version 18.0version 19.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.4 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 2.2 | 5.2 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.8 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 8.6 | 4.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 18.34%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Check TLS negotiations and unexpected certificates in the component’s traffic.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · openssl/openssl
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 7.4
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
24 on the record
- mta.openssl.org/pipermail/openssl-announce/2021-March/000198.html
- www.openssl.org/news/secadv/20210325.txt
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuoct2021.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpujul2022.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuapr2022.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuApr2021.html
- www.oracle.com//security-alerts/cpujul2021.html
- kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202103-03
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2021/03/28/4
- www.tenable.com/security/tns-2021-09
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/CCBF
- security.FreeBSD.org/advisories/FreeBSD-SA-21:07.openssl.asc
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-389290.pdf
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2021/03/28/3
- git.openssl.org/gitweb/
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210326-0006/
- tools.cisco.com/security/center/content/CiscoSecurityAdvisory/cisco-sa-openssl-2021-G
- kb.pulsesecure.net/articles/Pulse_Security_Advisories/SA44845
- www.tenable.com/security/tns-2021-08
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2021/03/27/1
- www.tenable.com/security/tns-2021-05
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2021/03/27/2
- psirt.global.sonicwall.com/vuln-detail/SNWLID-2021-0013
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-103946 SQL Injection 1d
- High CVE-2026-84784 QUIC: Unbounded RETIRE_CONNECTION_ID Backlog 16d
- High CVE-2026-84783 Use-After-Free in X.509 Extension Cache Under Concurrent Use 16d
- High CVE-2026-84782 DTLS Retransmits Handshake Messages From a Stale Buffer Offset 16d
- Low CVE-2026-77696 Timing Side-Channel in SM2 Signature Generation 16d
- Medium CVE-2026-75805 NULL Pointer Dereference in CMP Client Revocation Response Handling 16d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-3450 is "CA certificate check bypass with X509_V_FLAG_X509_STRICT", rated High. It affects Fedora (Fedoraproject); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.4 describes technical severity. EPSS 18.34% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.