CVE-2021-38646 — Microsoft Office Access Connectivity Engine Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Microsoft Office Access Connectivity Engine Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Used in ransomware campaigns (CISA)+10
- EPSS 8% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — portal.msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Apr 18, 2022 — passed 1641 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise, Microsoft Microsoft Office 2013 Service Pack 1…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- EPSS ahead of 95% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | 365 Apps | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise | ≥ 16.0.1 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2013 Service Pack 1 | ≥ 15.0.0 and < 5381.1000 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2016 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2016 | ≥ 16.0.0 and < 5215.1000 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | ≥ 19.0.0 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Office | version 2013-sp1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 6.8 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 8.6 | 6.4 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com) CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 7.99%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Mar 28, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · microsoft/microsoft 365 apps for enterprise, microsoft/microsoft office 2013 service pack 1, microsoft/microsoft office
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/365 apps, microsoft/office, microsoft/office 2016, microsoft/office 2019
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2021
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
5 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-108455 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 4h
- Medium CVE-2026-108453 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 4h
- Medium CVE-2026-108454 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 4h
- High CVE-2026-108448 Microsoft Office Outlook Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 4h
- High CVE-2026-108447 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 4h
- High CVE-2026-108451 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 4h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CWE classification.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-38646 is "Microsoft Office Access Connectivity Engine Remote Code Execution Vulnerability", rated High. It affects 365 Apps (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 7.99% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.