CVE-2021-38649 — Microsoft Open Management Infrastructure (OMI) Privilege Escalation Vulnerability
Open Management Infrastructure Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- EPSS 2.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+13
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — portal.msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply updates per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: Nov 17, 2021 — passed 1793 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Azure Automation State Configuration, Microsoft Azure Automation State Configuration, DSC Extension, Microsoft Azure Automation Update Management…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | Azure Automation State Configuration | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Automation State Configuration, DSC Extension | ≥ 2.0.0 and < DSC Agent versions: 2.71.1.25, 2.70.0.30, 3.0.0.3 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Azure Automation Update Management | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Automation Update Management | ≥ 1.0.0 and < OMS Agent for Linux GA v1.13.40-0 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Azure Diagnostics (lad) | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Diagnostics (lad) | ≥ 3.0.0 and < LAD v4.0.13 and LAD v3.0.135 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Azure Open Management Infrastructure | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Security Center | ≥ 1.0.0 and < OMS Agent for Linux GA v1.13.40-0 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Azure Security Center | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Sentinel | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Sentinel | ≥ 1.0.0 and < OMS Agent for Linux GA v1.13.40-0 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Azure Stack Hub | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Azure Stack Hub | ≥ 1.0.0 and < Monitor, Update and Config Mgmnt 1.14.01 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Container Monitoring Solution | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Container Monitoring Solution | ≥ 1.0.0 and < publication | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Log Analytics Agent | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Log Analytics Agent | ≥ 1.0.0 and < OMS Agent for Linux GA v1.13.40-0 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Open Management Infrastructure | < 1.6.8-1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Open Management Infrastructure | ≥ 16.0 and < OMI Version 1.6.8-1 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | System Center Operations Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | System Center Operations Manager (SCOM) | ≥ 1.0.0 and < OMI version: 1.6.8-1 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.0 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.0 | 5.9 | secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.0 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 4.6 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 3.9 | 6.4 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com) CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 2.89%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Nov 3, 2021 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · microsoft/azure automation state configuration, dsc extension, microsoft/azure automation update management, microsoft/a
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/azure automation state configuration, microsoft/azure automation update management, microsoft/azure diagnostic
- CVSS changed · 7.0
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
5 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-20967 System Center Operations Manager (SCOM) Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability Mar 10, 2026
- Critical CVE-2021-38647 Microsoft Open Management Infrastructure (OMI) Remote Code Execution Vulnerability KEV Sep 15, 2021
- High CVE-2021-38648 Microsoft Open Management Infrastructure (OMI) Privilege Escalation Vulnerability KEV Sep 15, 2021
- High CVE-2021-38645 Microsoft Open Management Infrastructure (OMI) Privilege Escalation Vulnerability KEV Sep 15, 2021
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CWE classification.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-38649 is "Microsoft Open Management Infrastructure (OMI) Privilege Escalation Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Azure Automation State Configuration (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.0 describes technical severity. EPSS 2.89% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.