CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV High

CVE-2021-42287 — Microsoft Active Directory Domain Services Privilege Escalation Vulnerability

Active Directory Domain Services Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability

Published Nov 9, 2021 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, NIST National Vulnerability Database, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: microsoft

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • Used in ransomware campaigns (CISA)+10
  • Public exploit/PoC (github)+6
  • EPSS 77.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Apr 11, 2022
EPSS FIRST
77.17%
ahead of 100% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Microsoft
Windows Server 2004 and 17 more
CVSS base
7.5
High · 4 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 8.8 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

CISA required action CISA

Apply updates per vendor instructions.

US federal deadline: May 2, 2022 — passed 1627 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft Windows Server 2004, Microsoft Windows Server 2008, Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Microsoft Windows Server 2004 < 10.0.19041.1348 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 versions not specified by the sourceversion r2-sp1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 ≥ 6.1.7601.0 and < 6.1.7601.25769 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (Server Core installation) ≥ 6.1.7601.0 and < 6.1.7601.25769 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 ≥ 6.0.6003.0 and < 6.0.6003.21282 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 (Server Core installation) ≥ 6.0.6003.0 and < 6.0.6003.21282 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 ≥ 6.2.9200.0 and < 6.2.9200.23517 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 versions not specified by the sourceversion r2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 (Server Core installation) ≥ 6.2.9200.0 and < 6.2.9200.23517 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 ≥ 6.3.9600.0 and < 6.3.9600.20174 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 (Server Core installation) ≥ 6.3.9600.0 and < 6.3.9600.20174 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2016 ≥ 10.0.14393.0 and < 10.0.14393.4770 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2016 < 10.0.14393.4770 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2016 (Server Core installation) ≥ 10.0.14393.0 and < 10.0.14393.4770 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2019 < 10.0.17763.2300 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2019 ≥ 10.0.17763.0 and < 10.0.17763.2300 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2019 (Server Core installation) ≥ 10.0.17763.0 and < 10.0.17763.2300 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 2022 < 10.0.20348.350 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server 2022 ≥ 10.0.20348.0 and < 10.0.20348.350 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server 20h2 < 10.0.19042.1348 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Windows Server version 2004 ≥ 10.0.0 and < 10.0.19041.1348 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Windows Server version 20H2 ≥ 10.0.0 and < 10.0.19041.1348 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
Low
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 1.6 5.9 secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High — — microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
6.5 CVSS 2.0 Medium 8.0 6.4 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 8.8 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Apr 11, 2022
Federal deadline
May 2, 2022
passed 1627 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Known

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates

Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.

Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 77.17%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Apr 11, 2022 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · microsoft/windows server 2004, microsoft/windows server 2008, microsoft/windows server 2012, microsoft/windows server 20
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Affected products added · microsoft/windows server 2008 r2 service pack 1, microsoft/windows server 2008 r2 service pack 1 (server core installati
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • CVSS changed · 7.5
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Source status changed · → Published
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2022
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Apr 10, 2022 · CISA
  • 2021
  • CVE published
    Nov 9, 2021 · microsoft

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 3× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

5 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Microsoft
every CVE for this vendor
2022-04
what else CISA listed that month

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-97844 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
  • Medium CVE-2026-97840 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
  • Medium CVE-2026-97839 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
  • Medium CVE-2026-97841 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
  • Medium CVE-2026-97843 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d
  • Medium CVE-2026-97842 Role: DNS Server Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No CWE classification.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2021-42287 is "Microsoft Active Directory Domain Services Privilege Escalation Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Windows Server 2004 (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 77.17% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.