CVE-2022-1473 — Resource leakage when decoding certificates and keys
The OPENSSL_LH_flush() function, which empties a hash table, contains a bug that breaks reuse of the memory occuppied by the removed hash table entries. This function is used when decoding certificates or keys. If a long lived process periodically decodes certificates or keys its memory usage will expand without bounds and the process might be terminated by the operating system causing a denial of service. Also traversing the empty hash table entries will take increasingly more time. Typically such long lived processes might be TLS clients or TLS servers configured to accept client certificate authentication. The function was added in the OpenSSL 3.0 version thus older releases are not affected by the issue. Fixed in OpenSSL 3.0.3 (Affected 3.0.0,3.0.1,3.0.2).
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 2.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+13
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Rust Openssl-src: fixed in version 300.0.6 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Netapp A250 Firmware, Netapp A700s Firmware, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Netapp | A250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | A700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Aff 500f Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Aff 8300 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Aff 8700 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Aff A400 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Clustered Data Ontap | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Clustered Data Ontap Antivirus Connector | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Fabric-attached Storage A400 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Fas 500f Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Fas 8300 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Fas 8700 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Santricity Smi-s Provider | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Smi-s Provider | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Snapmanager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire & Hci Management Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire, Enterprise Sds & Hci Storage Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openssl | Openssl | version Fixed in OpenSSL 3.0.3 (Affected 3.0.0,3.0.1,3.0.2) | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Openssl | Openssl | ≥ 3.0.0 and < 3.0.3 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Rust | Openssl-src | ≥ 300.0.0 and < 300.0.6 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 5.0 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 10.0 | 2.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 2.52%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · rust/openssl-src
- Affected products added · openssl/openssl
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · openssl/openssl, netapp/active iq unified manager, netapp/clustered data ontap, netapp/clustered data ontap antivirus co
- CVSS changed · 7.5
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
15 on the record
- www.openssl.org/news/secadv/20220503.txt
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-419740.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-942865.html
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-g323-fr93-4j3c
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-953464.html
- rustsec.org/advisories/RUSTSEC-2022-0025.html
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2022-1473
- git.openssl.org/gitweb/
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-794697.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-953464.pdf
- git.openssl.org/gitweb/
- github.com/github/advisory-database/issues/405
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202210-02
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20220602-0009/
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-84784 QUIC: Unbounded RETIRE_CONNECTION_ID Backlog 16d
- High CVE-2026-84782 DTLS Retransmits Handshake Messages From a Stale Buffer Offset 16d
- High CVE-2026-84783 Use-After-Free in X.509 Extension Cache Under Concurrent Use 16d
- Low CVE-2026-77696 Timing Side-Channel in SM2 Signature Generation 16d
- Medium CVE-2026-75805 NULL Pointer Dereference in CMP Client Revocation Response Handling 16d
- Medium CVE-2026-75806 Unauthenticated and Undersized DTLS 1.2 AEAD Record Causes DoS 16d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2022-1473 is "Resource leakage when decoding certificates and keys", rated High. It affects A250 Firmware (Netapp); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 2.52% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.