CVE Intelligence
High Injection

CVE-2022-2068 — The c_rehash script allows command injection

In addition to the c_rehash shell command injection identified in CVE-2022-1292, further circumstances where the c_rehash script does not properly sanitise shell metacharacters to prevent command injection were found by code review. When the CVE-2022-1292 was fixed it was not discovered that there are other places in the script where the file names of certificates being hashed were possibly passed to a command executed through the shell. This script is distributed by some operating systems in a manner where it is automatically executed. On such operating systems, an attacker could execute arbitrary commands with the privileges of the script. Use of the c_rehash script is considered obsolete and should be replaced by the OpenSSL rehash command line tool. Fixed in OpenSSL 3.0.4 (Affected 3.0.0,3.0.1,3.0.2,3.0.3). Fixed in OpenSSL 1.1.1p (Affected 1.1.1-1.1.1o). Fixed in OpenSSL 1.0.2zf (Affected 1.0.2-1.0.2ze).

Published Jun 21, 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: openssl

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 96.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
96.39%
ahead of 100% of scored CVEs · Oct 16, 2026
Affects
Broadcom
Sannav and 27 more
CVSS base
7.3
High · 4 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 9.8 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Documented patch — git.openssl.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
  • Documented patch — git.openssl.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
  • Documented patch — git.openssl.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Broadcom Sannav, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
  2. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  3. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  4. EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Broadcom Sannav versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Debian Debian Linux version 10.0version 11.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Fedoraproject Fedora version 36version 35 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Aff 8300 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Aff 8700 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Aff A400 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Bootstrap Os versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Element Software versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Fas 8300 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Fas 8700 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Fas A400 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H300s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410c Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H500s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H610c Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H610s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H615c Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H700s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Management Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Ontap Antivirus Connector versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Ontap Select Deploy Administration Utility versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Santricity Smi-s Provider versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Smi-s Provider versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Snapmanager versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Solidfire versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Openssl Openssl version Fixed in OpenSSL 1.0.2zf (Affected 1.0.2-1.0.2ze)version Fixed in OpenSSL 1.1.1p (Affected 1.1.1-1.1.1o)version Fixed in OpenSSL 3.0.4 (Affected 3.0.0,3.0.1,3.0.2,3.0.3) Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Openssl Openssl ≥ 3.0.0 and < 3.0.4≥ 1.1.1 and < 1.1.1p≥ 1.0.2 and < 1.0.2zf Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Siemens Sinec Ins version 1.0< 1.0version 1.0-sp2version 1.0-sp1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Local
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
Low
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.9 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
7.3 CVSS 3.1 High 1.3 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
10.0 CVSS 2.0 High 10.0 10.0 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 9.8 (CISA ADP via NIST National Vulnerability Database) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-78 · OS Command Injection

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 16, 2026 · 4 reading(s) · max 96.39%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
endpoint telemetry (EDR)application logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · openssl/openssl
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · openssl/openssl, debian/debian linux, fedoraproject/fedora, siemens/sinec ins, netapp/element software, netapp/hci manag
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 7.3
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2022
  • CVE published
    Jun 21, 2022 · openssl

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

25 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Broadcom
every CVE for this vendor
Injection
same class
CWE-78
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-84782 DTLS Retransmits Handshake Messages From a Stale Buffer Offset 17d
  • High CVE-2026-84783 Use-After-Free in X.509 Extension Cache Under Concurrent Use 17d
  • High CVE-2026-84784 QUIC: Unbounded RETIRE_CONNECTION_ID Backlog 17d
  • Low CVE-2026-77696 Timing Side-Channel in SM2 Signature Generation 17d
  • Medium CVE-2026-75806 Unauthenticated and Undersized DTLS 1.2 AEAD Record Causes DoS 17d
  • Medium CVE-2026-75805 NULL Pointer Dereference in CMP Client Revocation Response Handling 17d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2022-2068 is "The c_rehash script allows command injection", rated High. It affects Sannav (Broadcom); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 96.39% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.