CVE-2022-2274 — RSA implementation bug in AVX512IFMA instructions
The OpenSSL 3.0.4 release introduced a serious bug in the RSA implementation for X86_64 CPUs supporting the AVX512IFMA instructions. This issue makes the RSA implementation with 2048 bit private keys incorrect on such machines and memory corruption will happen during the computation. As a consequence of the memory corruption an attacker may be able to trigger a remote code execution on the machine performing the computation. SSL/TLS servers or other servers using 2048 bit RSA private keys running on machines supporting AVX512IFMA instructions of the X86_64 architecture are affected by this issue.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 45.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (critical)+10
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Rust Openssl-src: fixed in version 300.0.9 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Netapp H300s Firmware, Netapp H410c Firmware, Netapp H410s Firmware…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 99% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410c Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Snapcenter | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openssl | Openssl | version 3.0.4 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openssl | Openssl | version Affects OpenSSL 3.0.4 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Rust | Openssl-src | ≥ 300.0.8 and < 300.0.9 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 10.0 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 10.0 | 10.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 45.68%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · rust/openssl-src
- Affected products added · openssl/openssl
- Record published
- Affected products added · openssl/openssl, netapp/snapcenter, netapp/h410c firmware, netapp/h300s firmware, netapp/h500s firmware, netapp/h700s fi
- CVSS changed · 9.8
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
11 on the record
- www.openssl.org/news/secadv/20220705.txt
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2022-2274
- git.openssl.org/gitweb/
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-332410.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- git.openssl.org/gitweb/
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-735f-pg76-fxc4
- github.com/openssl/openssl/issues/18625
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-794697.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20220715-0010/
- rustsec.org/advisories/RUSTSEC-2022-0033.html
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-84784 QUIC: Unbounded RETIRE_CONNECTION_ID Backlog 16d
- High CVE-2026-84783 Use-After-Free in X.509 Extension Cache Under Concurrent Use 16d
- High CVE-2026-84782 DTLS Retransmits Handshake Messages From a Stale Buffer Offset 16d
- Medium CVE-2026-75805 NULL Pointer Dereference in CMP Client Revocation Response Handling 16d
- Medium CVE-2026-75806 Unauthenticated and Undersized DTLS 1.2 AEAD Record Causes DoS 16d
- Low CVE-2026-77696 Timing Side-Channel in SM2 Signature Generation 16d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No CISA SSVC assessment.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2022-2274 is "RSA implementation bug in AVX512IFMA instructions", rated Critical. It affects H300s Firmware (Netapp); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 45.68% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.