CVE-2022-30115 — Using its HSTS support, curl can be instructed to use HTTPS directly insteadof using an insecure...
Using its HSTS support, curl can be instructed to use HTTPS directly insteadof using an insecure clear-text HTTP step even when HTTP is provided in theURL. This mechanism could be bypassed if the host name in the given URL used atrailing dot while not using one when it built the HSTS cache. Or the otherway around - by having the trailing dot in the HSTS cache and *not* using thetrailing dot in the URL.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+11
- Technical severity (medium)+3
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — www.openwall.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Haxx Curl, Netapp Clustered Data Ontap, Netapp H300s Firmware…).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (cryptography), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haxx | Curl | ≥ 7.82.0 and < 7.83.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Clustered Data Ontap | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Hci Bootstrap Os | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire & Hci Management Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire, Enterprise Sds & Hci Storage Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Splunk | Universal Forwarder | ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 2.8 | 1.4 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 4.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 4.0 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 8.0 | 2.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 1.36%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Check TLS negotiations and unexpected certificates in the component’s traffic.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 4.3
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2022
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
9 on the record
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2022/10/26/4
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-p8vh-85vc-66x9
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202212-01
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20220609-0009
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2022-30115
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20220609-0009/
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2022/12/21/1
- hackerone.com/reports/1557449
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-82209 domain-scoped PSL domain cookie Sep 6, 2026
- High CVE-2026-80229 OpenSSL provider use-after-free Sep 6, 2026
- High CVE-2026-80230 OpenSSL pinning bypass Sep 6, 2026
- High CVE-2026-80231 native CA store conn reuse Sep 6, 2026
- High CVE-2026-82208 wolfSSL CA-cache hit overrides callback Sep 6, 2026
- High CVE-2026-80255 secure cookie attribute bypass with tab Sep 6, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2022-30115 is "Using its HSTS support, curl can be instructed to use HTTPS directly insteadof using an insecure...", rated Medium. It affects Curl (Haxx); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 4.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.36% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.