CVE Intelligence
Critical Access control exploit reference

CVE-2022-32207 — When curl < 7.84.0 saves cookies, alt-svc and hsts data to local files, it makes the operation...

When curl < 7.84.0 saves cookies, alt-svc and hsts data to local files, it makes the operation atomic by finalizing the operation with a rename from a temporary name to the final target file name.In that rename operation, it might accidentally *widen* the permissions for the target file, leaving the updated file accessible to more users than intended.

Published Jul 7, 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: hackerone

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 7.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (critical)+10
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
7.74%
ahead of 95% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Apple
Macos and 13 more
CVSS base
9.8
Critical · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Apple Macos, Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. EPSS ahead of 95% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (access control), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Apple Macos < 13.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Debian Debian Linux version 11.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Fedoraproject Fedora version 35 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Haxx Curl ≥ 7.69.0 and < 7.84.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Bootstrap Os versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Clustered Data Ontap versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Element Software versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H300s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H500s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H700s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Hci Management Node versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Solidfire versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Splunk Universal Forwarder ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.9 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
7.5 CVSS 2.0 High 10.0 6.4 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-276 · Incorrect Default Permissions

Other CVEs with this weakness →

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Audit administrative actions and access to resources outside each user’s normal pattern.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSauthentication logsapplication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Affected products added · haxx/curl, fedoraproject/fedora, debian/debian linux, netapp/clustered data ontap, netapp/element software, netapp/hci m
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 9.8
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2022
  • CVE published
    Jul 7, 2022 · hackerone

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

18 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Apple
every CVE for this vendor
Access control
same class
CWE-276
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-86950 Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability KEV 16d
  • Critical CVE-2026-65400 Apple macOS Improper Authentication Vulnerability KEV Aug 6, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-12996 A use-after-free in OpenVPN 2.6.0 through 2.6.20 and 2.7_alpha1 through 2.7.4 allows remote... Jul 30, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-43731 Use After Free in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-43734 Use After Free in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-43732 Path Traversal in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2022-32207 is "When curl < 7.84.0 saves cookies, alt-svc and hsts data to local files, it makes the operation...", rated Critical. It affects Macos (Apple); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 7.74% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.