CVE-2023-22839 — BIG-IP DNS profile vulnerability
On BIG-IP versions 17.0.x before 17.0.0.2, 16.1.x before 16.1.3.3, 15.1.x before 15.1.8.1, 14.1.x before 14.1.5.3, and all version of 13.1.x, when a DNS profile with the Rapid Response Mode setting enabled is configured on a virtual server with hardware SYN cookies enabled, undisclosed requests cause the Traffic Management Microkernel (TMM) to terminate. Note: Software versions which have reached End of Technical Support (EoTS) are not evaluated.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.6% (30-day exploitation probability)+7
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (F5 BIG-IP, F5 Big-ip 10000s Firmware, F5 Big-ip 10200v Firmware…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| F5 | BIG-IP | ≥ 13.1.0≥ 14.1.0 and < 14.1.5.3≥ 15.1.0 and < 15.1.8.1≥ 16.1.0 and < 16.1.3.3≥ 17.0.0 and < 17.0.0.2 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| F5 | Big-ip 10000s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 10200v Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 10200v-ssl Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 12000 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 5000s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 5200v Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 5200v-ssl Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 7000s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 7200v Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip 7200v-ssl Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip Domain Name System | ≥ 17.0.0 and < 17.0.0.2≥ 16.1.0 and < 16.1.3.3≥ 15.1.0 and < 15.1.7≥ 14.1.0 and < 14.1.5.3≥ 13.1.0 and ≤ 13.1.5 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I10600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I10800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I11600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I11800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I15600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I15800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I5600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I5800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I7600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip I7800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Big-ip Local Traffic Manager | ≥ 14.1.0 and < 14.1.5.3≥ 17.0.0 and < 17.0.0.2≥ 16.1.0 and < 16.1.3.3≥ 15.1.0 and < 15.1.7≥ 13.1.0 and ≤ 13.1.5 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R10600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R10800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R10900 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R5600 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R5800 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | R5900 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Velos Bx110 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Viprion B2100 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Viprion B2150 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Viprion B2250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Viprion B4300 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| F5 | Viprion B4450 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | f5sirt@f5.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | f5 via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 28, 2026 → Oct 29, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.63%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · f5/big-ip
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.5
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2023
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× References added · Oct 28, 2026 – Oct 28, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 28, 2026 – Oct 28, 2026
References
3 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Critical CVE-2026-94127 F5 BIG-IP APM Heap-based Buffer Overflow Vulnerability KEV Sep 22, 2026
- High CVE-2026-66842 BIG-IP and BIG-IQ Configuration utility vulnerability Sep 2, 2026
- Low CVE-2026-63020 BIG-IP Configuration utility vulnerability Sep 2, 2026
- High CVE-2026-59762 BIG-IP HTTP/2 vulnerability Jul 15, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-42937 iControl REST and tmsh vulnerability May 13, 2026
- High CVE-2026-42930 Appliance mode iControl REST vulnerability May 13, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2023-22839 is "BIG-IP DNS profile vulnerability", rated High. It affects BIG-IP (F5); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.63% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.