CVE-2023-25136 — OpenSSH server (sshd) 9.1 introduced a double-free vulnerability during options.kex_algorithms...
OpenSSH server (sshd) 9.1 introduced a double-free vulnerability during options.kex_algorithms handling. This is fixed in OpenSSH 9.2. The double free can be leveraged, by an unauthenticated remote attacker in the default configuration, to jump to any location in the sshd address space. One third-party report states "remote code execution is theoretically possible."
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 89.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (medium)+3
- CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — ftp.openbsd.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Fedoraproject Fedora, Netapp 500f Firmware, Netapp A250 Firmware…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 37version 38 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | 500f Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | A250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | C250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Ontap Select Deploy Administration Utility | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Openbsd | Openssh | version 9.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 6.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 2.2 | 4.2 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · openbsd/openssh, fedoraproject/fedora, netapp/ontap select deploy administration utility, netapp/a250 firmware, netapp/5
- CVSS changed · 6.5
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2023
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
25 on the record
- github.com/openssh/openssh-portable/commit/486c4dc3b83b4b67d663fb0fa62bc24138ec3
- ftp.openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD/patches/7.2/common/017_sshd.patch.sig
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20230309-0003/
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202307-01
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/03/09/2
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/R7LK
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JGAUIX
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JGAU
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/02/13/1
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/JGAU
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/R7LKQD
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce%40lists.fedoraproject.org/message/R7LK
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/02/23/3
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/02/22/1
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20230309-0003
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/03/06/1
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-w62j-g234-3f6f
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2023-25136
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/02/02/2
- news.ycombinator.com/item
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- jfrog.com/blog/openssh-pre-auth-double-free-cve-2023-25136-writeup-and-proof-of
- bugzilla.mindrot.org/show_bug.cgi
- jfrog.com/blog/openssh-pre-auth-double-free-cve-2023-25136-writeup-and-proof-of
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2023/02/22/2
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-106583 In ssh in OpenSSH before 10.6, a $ or \ character can occur in a command-line username, leading... 8d
- Low CVE-2026-106588 In sshd in OpenSSH through 10.6, use of the macOS 27 (or later) SDK has the side effect… 8d
- Low CVE-2026-106587 Type Confusion in Openbsd Openssh 8d
- Low CVE-2026-106589 In sshd in OpenSSH through 10.6, in certain environments such as QNX 6 and SCO… 8d
- High CVE-2026-106555 Incorrect Resource Transfer Between Spheres in Openbsd Openssh 8d
- Low CVE-2026-106582 In sshd and ssh in OpenSSH before 10.6, an LZ77 dictionary coder can be used even though… 8d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2023-25136 is "OpenSSH server (sshd) 9.1 introduced a double-free vulnerability during options.kex_algorithms...", rated Medium. It affects Fedora (Fedoraproject); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 89.69% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.