CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV High Logic error

CVE-2023-41993 — Apple Multiple Products WebKit Code Execution Vulnerability

The issue was addressed with improved checks. This issue is fixed in macOS Sonoma 14. Processing web content may lead to arbitrary code execution. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been actively exploited against versions of iOS before iOS 16.7.

Published Sep 21, 2023 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, NIST National Vulnerability Database, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: apple

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • Public exploit/PoC (github)+6
  • EPSS 24.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Sep 25, 2023
EPSS FIRST
24.35%
ahead of 98% of scored CVEs · Oct 15, 2026
Affects
Apple
Ipados and 13 more
CVSS base
8.8
High · 4 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 9.8 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

CISA required action CISA

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

US federal deadline: Oct 16, 2023 — passed 1096 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Apple Ipados, Apple Iphone Os, Apple Macos…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  4. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  5. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  6. EPSS ahead of 98% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  7. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (logic error), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Apple Ipados < 17.0.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Apple Iphone Os < 17.0.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Apple Macos < 14 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Apple Macos < 14.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Debian Debian Linux version 11.0version 12.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Fedoraproject Fedora version 38version 39version 37 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Cloud Insights Acquisition Unit versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Cloud Insights Storage Workload Security Agent versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Oncommand Insight versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Oncommand Workflow Automation versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Graalvm version 20.3.13version 21.3.9 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Jdk version 1.8.0-update401 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Oracle Jre version 1.8.0-update401 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Webkitgtk Webkitgtk < 2.42.2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.9 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Sources disagree significantly and the divergence is under review. Every score is kept with its origin. For prioritization we use 9.8 (GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-754 · Improper Check for Unusual or Exceptional Conditions

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Sep 25, 2023
Federal deadline
Oct 16, 2023
passed 1096 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Unknown

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates

Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.

Proofs of concept on GitHub

Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 4 reading(s) · max 24.35%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Sep 25, 2023 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · apple/ipados, apple/iphone os, apple/macos, fedoraproject/fedora, debian/debian linux, oracle/graalvm, oracle/jdk, oracl
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Affected products added · apple/macos
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • CVSS changed · 8.8
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Source status changed · → Published
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2023
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Sep 24, 2023 · CISA
  • CVE published
    Sep 21, 2023 · apple

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 3× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

27 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Apple
every CVE for this vendor
2023-09
what else CISA listed that month
Logic error
same class
CWE-754
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-86950 Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability KEV 17d
  • High CVE-2026-87288 Improper Access Control in Oracle Graalvm Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-87286 Improper Access Control in Oracle Graalvm Sep 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-87287 Improper Access Control in Oracle Graalvm Sep 15, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-86911 Clickjacking in Apple Macos Sep 14, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2026-86903 Out-of-bounds Read in Apple Ipados Sep 14, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2023-41993 is "Apple Multiple Products WebKit Code Execution Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Ipados (Apple); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 8.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 24.35% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.