CVE Intelligence
Medium Cross-site scripting

CVE-2023-6717 — Keycloak: xss via assertion consumer service url in saml post-binding flow

A flaw was found in the SAML client registration in Keycloak that could allow an administrator to register malicious JavaScript URIs as Assertion Consumer Service POST Binding URLs (ACS), posing a Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) risk. This issue may allow a malicious admin in one realm or a client with registration access to target users in different realms or applications, executing arbitrary JavaScript in their contexts upon form submission. This can enable unauthorized access and harmful actions, compromising the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the complete KC instance.

Published Apr 25, 2024 · Updated Oct 27, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 0.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+8
  • Technical severity (medium)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
0.71%
ahead of 53% of scored CVEs · Oct 26, 2026
Affects
Red Hat
Migration Toolkit for Applications 6 and 11 more
CVSS base
6.0
Medium · 3 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Maven Org.keycloak:keycloak-services: fixed in version 22.0.10 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
  • Maven Org.keycloak:keycloak-services: fixed in version 24.0.3 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Migration Toolkit for Applications 6, Red Hat Openshift Gitops, Red Hat Red Hat build of Apicurio Registry 2…).
  2. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  3. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (cross-site scripting), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Red Hat Migration Toolkit for Applications 6 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Openshift Gitops versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Apicurio Registry 2 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Keycloak 22 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Data Grid 8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Decision Manager 7 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Fuse 7 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat JBoss Data Grid 7 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Process Automation 7 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Single Sign-On 7 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat RHOSS-1.33-RHEL-8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Maven Org.keycloak:keycloak-services < 22.0.10≥ 23.0.0 and < 24.0.3 Vulnerable GitHub Security Advisories

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
High
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
Low

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
6.0 CVSS 3.1 Medium 0.5 5.5 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.0 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
6.0 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:H/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:L (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-79 · Cross-site Scripting (XSS)

Other CVEs with this weakness →

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Monitor CSP violation reports and script payloads in reflected parameters.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 27, 2026 · GitHub Security Advisories
  • Affected products added · maven/org.keycloak:keycloak-services
    Oct 27, 2026 · GitHub Security Advisories
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat build of keycloak 22, red hat/rhoss-1.33-rhel-8, red hat/migration toolkit for applications 6, red hat/r
    Oct 27, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 27, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 27, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 6.0
    Oct 27, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Deferred
    Oct 27, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 27, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2024
  • CVE published
    Apr 25, 2024 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 27, 2026 – Oct 27, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 27, 2026 – Oct 27, 2026

References

10 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Red Hat
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-79
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-92171 Infinispan-operator: infinispan operator: sensitive information disclosure due pod args store 1d
  • Medium CVE-2026-114406 Ca-certificates: distrust emudhra intermediate ca certificates due to security concerns 6d
  • Medium CVE-2026-114438 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: required otp enrollment bypassed via update user locale required action ordering 6d
  • Low CVE-2026-114370 Undertow: undertow: pathresourcemanager safepaths check allows sibling-directory symlink traversal 6d
  • High CVE-2026-84823 Org.wildfly.core: wildfly: path traversal in take-snapshot discloses the server configuration to the monitor role 11d
  • High CVE-2026-85634 Wildfly-core: wildfly-core: deployer rbac role privilege escalation via path traversal in deployment name 12d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2023-6717 is "Keycloak: xss via assertion consumer service url in saml post-binding flow", rated Medium. It affects Migration Toolkit for Applications 6 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.0 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.71% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.