CVE-2024-0443 — Kernel: blkio memory leakage due to blkcg and some blkgs are not freed after they are made offline.
A flaw was found in the blkgs destruction path in block/blk-cgroup.c in the Linux kernel, leading to a cgroup blkio memory leakage problem. When a cgroup is being destroyed, cgroup_rstat_flush() is only called at css_release_work_fn(), which is called when the blkcg reference count reaches 0. This circular dependency will prevent blkcg and some blkgs from being freed after they are made offline. This issue may allow an attacker with a local access to cause system instability, such as an out of memory error.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+2
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Fedoraproject Fedora, Linux Linux Kernel, Red Hat Enterprise Linux…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (access control), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 39 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Linux | Linux Kernel | ≥ 6.2 and < 6.4version 6.4-rc1version 6.4-rc2version 6.4-rc3version 6.4-rc4version 6.4-rc5version 6.4-rc6 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux | version 8.0version 9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Extended Update Support | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 1.8 | 3.6 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 1.8 | 3.6 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 26, 2026 → Oct 27, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.25%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Audit administrative actions and access to resources outside each user’s normal pattern.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 8, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9.2 extended update support, red hat/red hat enterp
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · linux/linux kernel, redhat/enterprise linux, fedoraproject/fedora
- CVSS changed · 5.5
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 26, 2026 – Oct 26, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 26, 2026 – Oct 26, 2026
References
9 on the record
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2023:7077
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2023:6583
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2023:7370
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-rqh4-x2v7-j34g
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-0443
- lore.kernel.org/linux-block/20221215033132.230023-3-longman@redhat.com/
- lore.kernel.org/linux-block/20221215033132.230023-3-longman@redhat.com
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-0443
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-116497 Gssproxy: gssproxy: null pointer dereference in gssx_init_sec_context crashes daemon 2d
- Medium CVE-2026-115485 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv6 vendor option strlen heap out-of-bounds read and 1-byte write in iscsiuio 5d
- High CVE-2026-115484 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv4 option parser heap out-of-bounds read in iscsiuio parse_msg 5d
- High CVE-2026-115486 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: ipv6 neighbor discovery missing option length validation in iscsiuio allows arp table poisoning 5d
- Low CVE-2026-115449 Libslirp: libslirp: icmp echo reply length desynchronization leaks host ip to guest 5d
- Medium CVE-2026-115221 Ipa: freeipa: freeipa uses subject cn as proof of certificate ownership 5d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-0443 is "Kernel: blkio memory leakage due to blkcg and some blkgs are not freed after they are made offline.", rated Medium. It affects Fedora (Fedoraproject); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.25% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.