CVE-2024-0874 — Coredns: cd bit response is cached and served later
A flaw was found in coredns. This issue could lead to invalid cache entries returning due to incorrectly implemented caching.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.8% (30-day exploitation probability)+8
- Technical severity (medium)+3
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management for Kubernetes 2, Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.13, Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.14…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management for Kubernetes 2 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.13 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.14 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.15 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.16 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 3.9 | 1.4 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.76%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat openshift container platform 4.13, red hat/red hat openshift container platform 4.14, red hat/red hat op
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 5.3
- Source status changed · → Deferred
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
8 on the record
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-0874
- github.com/coredns/coredns/issues/6186
- github.com/coredns/coredns/pull/6354
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4850
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:6406
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:0041
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:6009
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-89091 Ansible-core: ansible-core: ansible-galaxy collection install symlink path escape allows arbitrary file write / code execution 6d
- High CVE-2026-75887 Openshift/console: openshift/console: unauthenticated path traversal in i18n locale handler 21d
- Critical CVE-2026-75885 Openshift/console: openshift/console: unauthenticated ssrf and resource exhaustion via devfile parser endpoint 26d
- High CVE-2026-66785 Submariner: submariner: missing validation of remote endpoint subnets and clusterid enables cross-cluster traffic hijack Aug 20, 2026
- High CVE-2026-15816 Dracut: dracut: root code execution via unescaped error message written to sourced emergency hook script in die() Aug 7, 2026
- High CVE-2026-16313 Sg3_utils: sg3_utils: arbitrary command execution via udev property injection in sg_inq --export Jul 28, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-0874 is "Coredns: cd bit response is cached and served later", rated Medium. It affects Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management for Kubernetes 2 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.76% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.