CVE-2024-1086 — Linux Kernel Use-After-Free Vulnerability
A use-after-free vulnerability in the Linux kernel's netfilter: nf_tables component can be exploited to achieve local privilege escalation. The nft_verdict_init() function allows positive values as drop error within the hook verdict, and hence the nf_hook_slow() function can cause a double free vulnerability when NF_DROP is issued with a drop error which resembles NF_ACCEPT. We recommend upgrading past commit f342de4e2f33e0e39165d8639387aa6c19dff660.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Used in ransomware campaigns (CISA)+10
- Public exploit/PoC (github)+6
- EPSS 28.1% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — www.openwall.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.openwall.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — kernel.dance (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
US federal deadline: Jun 20, 2024 — passed 847 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Debian Debian Linux, Fedoraproject Fedora, Linux Linux Kernel…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 98% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debian | Debian Linux | version 10.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 39 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Linux | Linux Kernel | ≥ 6.7 and < 6.7.3version 6.8-rc1≥ 6.2 and < 6.6.15≥ 6.1 and < 6.1.76≥ 3.15 and < 5.15.149 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Linux | Linux Kernel | ≥ 3.15 and < 6.8 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Netapp | 500f Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | A250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Bootstrap Os | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | C250 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410c Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux Desktop | version 7.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Ibm Z Systems | version 7.0_s390x | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Power Big Endian | version 7.0_ppc64 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux For Power Little Endian | version 7.0_ppc64le | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux Server | version 7.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux Workstation | version 7.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | cve-coordination@google.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | Google via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Universal local privilege escalation Proof-of-Concept exploit for CVE-2024-1086, working on most Linux kernels between v5.14 and v6.6, including Debian, Ubuntu, and KernelCTF. The success rate is 99.4% in KernelCTF images. ★ 2458 Mar 20, 2024
- LLfam/CVE-2024-1086 ★ 22 Dec 16, 2024
- Alicey0719/docker-POC_CVE-2024-1086 ★ 3 Apr 3, 2024
- kevcooper/CVE-2024-1086-checker ★ 2 Jun 3, 2024
- Technical analysis and proof-of-concept for CVE-2024-1086, a Linux kernel nf_tables use-after-free vulnerability leading to local privilege escalation. Includes vulnerability breakdown, affected versions, exploitation methodology, and mitigation guidance for research and educational purposes. ★ 1 Mar 4, 2026
- HTB OneTwoSeven full walkthrough: deterministic creds, chroot symlink escape, rewrite-rule bypass RCE, CVE-2024-1086 to root ★ 1 Aug 6, 2026
- CCIEVoice2009/CVE-2024-1086 ★ 0 Apr 30, 2024
- feely666/CVE-2024-1086 ★ 0 Jun 10, 2024
- xzx482/CVE-2024-1086 ★ 0 Jul 4, 2024
- Educational, non-functional Linux kernel exploit template for CVE-2024-1086 — lab-only security research and teaching (use in controlled VMs only). ★ 0 Sep 4, 2025
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 28.06%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before May 30, 2024 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · linux/kernel
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · netapp/h300s firmware, netapp/h500s firmware, netapp/h700s firmware, netapp/h410s firmware, netapp/h410c firmware, netap
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
20 on the record
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/04/10/23
- git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/04/10/22
- kernel.dance/f342de4e2f33e0e39165d8639387aa6c19dff660
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240614-0009
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/04/14/1
- news.ycombinator.com/item
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/7LSPIO
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-1086
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/7LSPIO
- pwning.tech/nftables
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2024/06/msg00020.html
- pwning.tech/nftables/
- github.com/Notselwyn/CVE-2024-1086
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-gfh2-2mj9-m2cx
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/04/15/2
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240614-0009/
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2024/06/msg00016.html
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/04/17/5
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-98164 KVM: x86/mmu: Check write tracking in all address spaces 16d
- High CVE-2026-98163 cgroup: Avoid iteration of dying tasks with zero refcount 19d
- Medium CVE-2026-98162 smb/server: fix tree connection leak in smb2_tree_connect() 20d
- High CVE-2026-98156 drm/virtio: use the DMA API for resource backing on Xen 20d
- Medium CVE-2026-98159 wifi: mt76: mt7921: validate CLC firmware records 20d
- Medium CVE-2026-98137 ntfs: treat any nonzero dio zero-range return as an error 20d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-1086 is "Linux Kernel Use-After-Free Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Debian Linux (Debian); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 28.06% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.