CVE-2024-12243 — Gnutls: gnutls impacted by inefficient der decoding in libtasn1 leading to remote dos
A flaw was found in GnuTLS, which relies on libtasn1 for ASN.1 data processing. Due to an inefficient algorithm in libtasn1, decoding certain DER-encoded certificate data can take excessive time, leading to increased resource consumption. This flaw allows a remote attacker to send a specially crafted certificate, causing GnuTLS to become unresponsive or slow, resulting in a denial-of-service condition.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+11
- Technical severity (medium)+3
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat Discovery 1.14, Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8, Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat Discovery 1.14 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Update Services for SAP Solutions | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Extended Update Support | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 3.9 | 1.4 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 5.3 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:L (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 21, 2026 → Oct 22, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 1.29%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products removed · 1
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat openshift container platform 4
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 8, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9.2 update serv
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 5.3
- Source status changed · → Deferred
- Record created in this database
- 2025
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 21, 2026 – Oct 21, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 21, 2026 – Oct 21, 2026
References
16 on the record
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:7076
- gitlab.com/gnutls/libtasn1/-/issues/52
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2025/02/msg00027.html
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-082556.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20250523-0002/
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:8385
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17361
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:8020
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-12243
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:4051
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-cqj4-fp95-jqxq
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-202008.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20250523-0002
- gitlab.com/gnutls/gnutls/-/issues/1553
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-12243
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-115484 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv4 option parser heap out-of-bounds read in iscsiuio parse_msg 13h
- High CVE-2026-115486 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: ipv6 neighbor discovery missing option length validation in iscsiuio allows arp table poisoning 13h
- Medium CVE-2026-115485 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv6 vendor option strlen heap out-of-bounds read and 1-byte write in iscsiuio 13h
- Medium CVE-2026-115424 Oc: oc: symlink/hardlink target validation bypass in oc image extract allows file write outside destination 16h
- Low CVE-2026-115449 Libslirp: libslirp: icmp echo reply length desynchronization leaks host ip to guest 16h
- Medium CVE-2026-115221 Ipa: freeipa: freeipa uses subject cn as proof of certificate ownership 16h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-12243 is "Gnutls: gnutls impacted by inefficient der decoding in libtasn1 leading to remote dos", rated Medium. It affects Red Hat Discovery 1.14 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.29% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.