CVE-2024-1394 — Golang-fips/openssl: memory leaks in code encrypting and decrypting rsa payloads
A memory leak flaw was found in Golang in the RSA encrypting/decrypting code, which might lead to a resource exhaustion vulnerability using attacker-controlled inputs. The memory leak happens in github.com/golang-fips/openssl/openssl/rsa.go#L113. The objects leaked are pkey and ctx. That function uses named return parameters to free pkey and ctx if there is an error initializing the context or setting the different properties. All return statements related to error cases follow the "return nil, nil, fail(...)" pattern, meaning that pkey and ctx will be nil inside the deferred function that should free them.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+11
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Go Github.com/golang-fips/openssl/v2: fixed in version 2.0.1 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
- Go Github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl/openssl: fixed in version 0.2.9 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat NBDE Tang Server, Red Hat Openshift Dev Spaces, Red Hat Openshift Developer Tools And Services…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | NBDE Tang Server | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Openshift Dev Spaces | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Openshift Developer Tools And Services | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Openshift Gitops | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Openshift Serverless | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 1.2 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.4 for RHEL 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.4 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Certification for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Certification Program for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Developer Tools | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.0 Update Services for SAP Solutions | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Extended Update Support | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.12 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.13 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.14 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.15 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift on AWS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 16.1 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 16.2 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 17.1 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 17.1 for RHEL 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 17.1 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenStack Platform 18.0 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Service Interconnect 1 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | RHODF-4.16-RHEL-9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Go | Github.com/golang-fips/go | ≤ 1.22.1 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Go | Github.com/golang-fips/openssl/v2 | ≤ 2.0.0 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Go | Github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl | ≤ 0.2.8 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Go | Github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl/openssl | ≤ 0.2.8 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CWE-401 · Missing Release of Memory after Effective Lifetime
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 16, 2026 · 4 reading(s) · max 1.53%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · go/github.com/golang-fips/go, go/github.com/golang-fips/openssl/v2, go/github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl, go/github
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.4 for rhel 8, red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.4 for rhel 9,
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.5
- Source status changed · → Deferred
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
50 on the record
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4371
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1462
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3352
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1763
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4146
- pkg.go.dev/vuln/GO-2024-2660
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:7118
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1561
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2729
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1563
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2569
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3265
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4378
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2730
- github.com/golang-fips/openssl/commit/85d31d0d257ce842c8a1e63c4d230ae850348136
- github.com/golang-fips/openssl/security/advisories/GHSA-78hx-gp6g-7mj6
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4591
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4379
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4581
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1472
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4672
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2767
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4761
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1897
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4762
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1468
- vuln.go.dev/ID/GO-2024-2660.json
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4699
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1640
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-1394
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1574
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1566
- github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl/releases/tag/v0.2.9
- github.com/golang-fips/openssl/releases/tag/v2.0.1
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1567
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4502
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-1394
- github.com/microsoft/go-crypto-openssl/commit/104fe7f6912788d2ad44602f77a0a0a62f
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:5258
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1646
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1501
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:5634
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1644
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:4960
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2568
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-78hx-gp6g-7mj6
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:7262
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:2562
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:1502
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-89088 Parted: parted: denial of service via heap buffer overflow during fat16 resize 22h
- Medium CVE-2026-89096 Nfs-utils: nfs-utils: denial of service via memory leak in rpc.statd 22h
- Medium CVE-2026-89085 Parted: parted: heap-based buffer overflow via crafted fat32 filesystem image 22h
- Medium CVE-2026-111802 Nautilus: nautilus: arbitrary file deletion via trash symlink 22h
- Low CVE-2026-17591 Libarchive: libarchive: use-after-free via aliased mac metadata copy 22h
- High CVE-2026-62439 Gimp: gimp: file-pvr plug-in pvr file parsing integer overflow heap-based buffer overflow vulnerability 23h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-1394 is "Golang-fips/openssl: memory leaks in code encrypting and decrypting rsa payloads", rated High. It affects NBDE Tang Server (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.53% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.