CVE-2024-2004 — Usage of disabled protocol
When a protocol selection parameter option disables all protocols without adding any then the default set of protocols would remain in the allowed set due to an error in the logic for removing protocols. The below command would perform a request to curl.se with a plaintext protocol which has been explicitly disabled. curl --proto -all,-http http://curl.se The flaw is only present if the set of selected protocols disables the entire set of available protocols, in itself a command with no practical use and therefore unlikely to be encountered in real situations. The curl security team has thus assessed this to be low severity bug.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+11
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Apple Macos, Curl Curl, Fedoraproject Fedora…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple | Macos | < 12.7.6≥ 13.0 and < 13.6.8≥ 14.0 and < 14.6 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Curl | Curl |
≥ 8.5.0 and ≤ 8.5.0≥ 7.85.0 and ≤ 7.85.0≥ 7.86.0 and ≤ 7.86.0≥ 7.87.0 and ≤ 7.87.0≥ 7.88.0 and ≤ 7.88.0≥ 7.88.1 and ≤ 7.88.1≥ 8.0.0 and ≤ 8.0.0≥ 8.0.1 and ≤ 8.0.1 and 8 more≥ 8.1.0 and ≤ 8.1.0≥ 8.1.1 and ≤ 8.1.1≥ 8.1.2 and ≤ 8.1.2≥ 8.2.0 and ≤ 8.2.0≥ 8.2.1 and ≤ 8.2.1≥ 8.3.0 and ≤ 8.3.0≥ 8.4.0 and ≤ 8.4.0≥ 8.6.0 and ≤ 8.6.0 |
Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Fedoraproject | Fedora | version 39version 40 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Haxx | Curl | ≥ 7.85.0 and < 8.7.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Bootstrap Os | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Ontap | version 9 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Ontap Select Deploy Administration Utility | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | 2.1 | 1.4 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 3.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 3.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · curl/curl
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · haxx/curl, fedoraproject/fedora, apple/macos, netapp/ontap, netapp/ontap select deploy administration utility, netapp/bo
- CVSS changed · 3.5
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
21 on the record
- curl.se/docs/CVE-2024-2004.json
- support.apple.com/kb/HT214120
- support.apple.com/kb/HT214118
- curl.se/docs/CVE-2024-2004.html
- support.apple.com/kb/HT214119
- seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/Jul/19
- hackerone.com/reports/2384833
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/03/27/1
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240524-0006
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240524-0006/
- seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/Jul/20
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/GMD6UY
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-331112.html
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/GMD6UY
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/Jul/18
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/2D44YL
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-417159.html
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-97xx-95pm-5qv6
- lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/2D44YL
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-2004
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-92392 HTTP/2 upload Use-After-Free 1d
- High CVE-2026-86950 Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability KEV 16d
- Critical CVE-2026-65400 Apple macOS Improper Authentication Vulnerability KEV Aug 6, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-43740 Buffer Errors (Improper Restriction of Operations within Memory Bounds) in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-43726 Use After Free in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-43742 Use After Free in Apple Safari Jun 29, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-2004 is "Usage of disabled protocol", rated Low. It affects Macos (Apple); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 3.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.68% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.