CVE-2024-21413 — Microsoft Outlook Improper Input Validation Vulnerability
Microsoft Outlook Remote Code Execution Vulnerability
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (github)+6
- EPSS 94.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (critical)+10
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented mitigation — www.vicarius.io (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
US federal deadline: Feb 27, 2025 — passed 595 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise, Microsoft Microsoft Office 2016…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (input validation), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | 365 Apps | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise | ≥ 16.0.1 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2016 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2016 | ≥ 16.0.0 and < 16.0.5435.1001 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | ≥ 19.0.0 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office LTSC 2021 | ≥ 16.0.1 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Office Long Term Servicing Channel | version 2021 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Microsoft-Outlook-Remote-Code-Execution-Vulnerability ★ 777 Feb 16, 2024
- CVE-2024-21413 PoC for THM Lab ★ 289 Feb 17, 2024
- Microsoft Outlook Information Disclosure Vulnerability (leak password hash) - Expect Script POC ★ 156 Feb 15, 2024
- CVE-2024-21413 | Microsoft Outlook Remote Code Execution Vulnerability PoC ★ 25 Aug 31, 2024
- Microsoft Outlook Information Disclosure Vulnerability (leak password hash) - CVE-2024-21413 POC ★ 17 Feb 16, 2024
- Outlook exploitation ★ 11 Nov 30, 2025
- Mdusmandasthaheer/CVE-2024-21413-Microsoft-Outlook-Remote-Code-Execution-Vulnerability ★ 5 Feb 20, 2024
- Bu betik, Microsoft Outlook'ta keşfedilen ve CVSS değeri 9.8 olan önemli bir güvenlik açığı olan CVE-2024-21413 için bir kavram kanıtı (PoC) sunmaktadır. MonikerLink hatası olarak adlandırılan bu güvenlik açığı, yerel NTLM bilgilerinin potansiyel sızıntısı ve uzaktan kod çalıştırma olasılığı dahil o ★ 4 Feb 23, 2024
- D1se0/CVE-2024-21413-Vulnerabilidad-Outlook-LAB ★ 4 Dec 4, 2024
- dshabani96/CVE-2024-21413 ★ 2 Feb 29, 2024
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 94.66%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Feb 6, 2025 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · microsoft/microsoft 365 apps for enterprise, microsoft/microsoft office 2016, microsoft/microsoft office 2019, microsoft
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/365 apps, microsoft/office 2016, microsoft/office 2019, microsoft/office long term servicing channel
- CVSS changed · 9.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2025
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
8 on the record
- msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2024-21413
- www.vicarius.io/vsociety/posts/cve-2024-21413-critical-monikerlink-vulnerability-affe
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- research.checkpoint.com/2024/the-risks-of-the-monikerlink-bug-in-microsoft-outlook-and-the-bi
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-9mp4-h7q5-2rgq
- www.vicarius.io/vsociety/posts/cve-2024-21413-critical-monikerlink-vulnerability-affe
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-21413
- research.checkpoint.com/2024/the-risks-of-the-monikerlink-bug-in-microsoft-outlook-and-the-bi
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-108453 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 5h
- Medium CVE-2026-108454 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 5h
- Medium CVE-2026-108455 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 5h
- High CVE-2026-108450 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 5h
- High CVE-2026-108446 Microsoft Office Excel Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 5h
- High CVE-2026-108449 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 5h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-21413 is "Microsoft Outlook Improper Input Validation Vulnerability", rated Critical. It affects 365 Apps (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 94.66% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.