CVE-2024-3272 — D-Link Multiple NAS Devices Use of Hard-Coded Credentials Vulnerability
** UNSUPPORTED WHEN ASSIGNED ** A vulnerability, which was classified as very critical, has been found in D-Link DNS-320L, DNS-325, DNS-327L and DNS-340L up to 20240403. This issue affects some unknown processing of the file /cgi-bin/nas_sharing.cgi of the component HTTP GET Request Handler. The manipulation of the argument user with the input messagebus leads to hard-coded credentials. The attack may be initiated remotely. The exploit has been disclosed to the public and may be used. The associated identifier of this vulnerability is VDB-259283. NOTE: This vulnerability only affects products that are no longer supported by the maintainer. NOTE: Vendor was contacted early and confirmed immediately that the product is end-of-life. It should be retired and replaced.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- Public exploit/PoC (nuclei, github)+10
- EPSS 98% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (critical)+10
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
CISA required action CISA
This vulnerability affects legacy D-Link products. All associated hardware revisions have reached their end-of-life (EOL) or end-of-service (EOS) life cycle and should be retired and replaced per vendor instructions.
US federal deadline: May 2, 2024 — passed 896 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Dlink Dnr-202l Firmware, Dlink Dnr-322l Firmware, Dlink Dnr-326 Firmware…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- EPSS ahead of 100% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (authentication), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dlink | Dnr-202l Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dnr-322l Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dnr-326 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-1100-4 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-120 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-1200-05 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-1550-04 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-315l Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-320 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | DNS-320L | version 20240403 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Dlink | Dns-320l Firmware | version 1.03.0904.2013version 1.01.0702.2013version 1.11 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-320lw Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-321 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-323 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | DNS-325 | version 20240403 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Dlink | Dns-325 Firmware | version 1.01 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-326 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | DNS-327L | version 20240403 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Dlink | Dns-327l Firmware | version 1.00.0409.2013version 1.09 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | DNS-340L | version 20240403 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Dlink | Dns-340l Firmware | version 1.08 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-343 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-345 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Dlink | Dns-726-4 Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | cna@vuldb.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 3.9 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | VulDB via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 9.8 | CVSS 3.0 | Critical | — | — | VulDB via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 10.0 | CVSS 2.0 | High | 10.0 | 10.0 | cna@vuldb.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 10.0 | CVSS 2.0 | High | — | — | VulDB via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Patch your D-Link device affected by CVE-2024-3272 ★ 3 May 21, 2024
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 98.04%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Review authentication logs: logins without MFA, anomalous sessions and recently created accounts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Apr 11, 2024 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · d-link/dns-320l, d-link/dns-325, d-link/dns-327l, d-link/dns-340l
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · dlink/dns-320l firmware, dlink/dns-120 firmware, dlink/dnr-202l firmware, dlink/dns-315l firmware, dlink/dns-320 firmwar
- CVSS changed · 9.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
7 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-8273 D-Link DNS-320 system_mgr.cgi cgi_merge_user os command injection May 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-8272 D-Link DNS-320 webfile_mgr.cgi chown os command injection May 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-8271 D-Link DNS-320 network_mgr.cgi cgi_upnp_edit os command injection May 11, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-5312 D-Link DNS-1550-04 dsk_mgr.cgi Get_current_raidtype access control Apr 1, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-5311 D-Link DNS-1550-04 file_center.cgi Webdav_Access_List access control Apr 1, 2026
- High CVE-2026-5214 D-Link DNS-1550-04 account_mgr.cgi cgi_addgroup_get_group_quota_minsize stack-based overflow Mar 31, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-3272 is "D-Link Multiple NAS Devices Use of Hard-Coded Credentials Vulnerability", rated Critical. It affects Dnr-202l Firmware (Dlink); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 98.04% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.