CVE-2024-3596 — RADIUS Protocol under RFC2865 is vulnerable to forgery attacks.
RADIUS Protocol under RFC 2865 is susceptible to forgery attacks by a local attacker who can modify any valid Response (Access-Accept, Access-Reject, or Access-Challenge) to any other response using a chosen-prefix collision attack against MD5 Response Authenticator signature.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 14.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
- Technical severity (critical)+10
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Broadcom Brocade Sannav, Broadcom Fabric Operating System, Freeradius Freeradius…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- EPSS ahead of 97% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broadcom | Brocade Sannav | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Broadcom | Fabric Operating System | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Freeradius | Freeradius | < 3.0.27 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Ietf | RFC | version 2865 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Sonicwall | Sonicos | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9.0 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 2.2 | 6.0 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.0 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | 2.2 | 6.0 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 9.0 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 9.0 | CVSS 3.1 | Critical | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 14, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 14.86%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · ietf/rfc
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Affected products added · freeradius/freeradius, broadcom/brocade sannav, broadcom/fabric operating system, sonicwall/sonicos
- CVSS changed · 9.0
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
18 on the record
- datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-radext-deprecating-radius/
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-723487.html
- www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/456537
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/07/09/4
- www.blastradius.fail/
- psirt.global.sonicwall.com/vuln-detail/SNWLID-2024-0014
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240822-0001/
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-3596
- today.ucsd.edu/story/computer-scientists-discover-vulnerabilities-in-a-popular-secur
- datatracker.ietf.org/doc/html/rfc2865
- networkradius.com/assets/pdf/radius_and_md5_collisions.pdf
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-794185.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240822-0001
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-770770.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-364175.html
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-3g8x-wqfp-q876
- datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-radext-deprecating-radius
- www.blastradius.fail
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-5769 A vulnerability in Brocade SANnav before 3.0.1 can have the Brocade Fabric OS switch admin... 8d
- Medium CVE-2026-5049 A path traversal vulnerability affects the The Zone Alias Import flow feature in Brocade SANnav... 8d
- High CVE-2026-5048 In Brocade SANnav before 3.0.0a, an SQL Injection vulnerability in various external API... 8d
- Medium CVE-2026-5047 Insecure Storage of Sensitive Information in Brocade SANnav 8d
- High CVE-2026-94577 A privilege escalation vulnerability exists in the internal Command-Line Interface (CLI)... 8d
- Medium CVE-2026-94581 An OS command injection vulnerability exists in the REST API management interface of Brocade... 8d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-3596 is "RADIUS Protocol under RFC2865 is vulnerable to forgery attacks.", rated Critical. It affects Brocade Sannav (Broadcom); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 9.0 describes technical severity. EPSS 14.86% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.