CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV High Input validation

CVE-2024-38189 — Microsoft Project Remote Code Execution Vulnerability

Microsoft Project Remote Code Execution Vulnerability

Published Aug 13, 2024 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories, NIST National Vulnerability Database · CNA: microsoft

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • EPSS 8.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Aug 13, 2024
EPSS FIRST
8.19%
ahead of 95% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Microsoft
365 Apps and 5 more
CVSS base
8.8
High · 3 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

CISA required action CISA

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

US federal deadline: Sep 3, 2024 — passed 772 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise, Microsoft Microsoft Office 2019…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  4. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  5. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  6. EPSS ahead of 95% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  7. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (input validation), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Microsoft 365 Apps versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise ≥ 16.0.1 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Microsoft Office 2019 ≥ 19.0.0 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Microsoft Office 2019 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Microsoft Office LTSC 2021 ≥ 16.0.1 and < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Microsoft Project 2016 ≥ 16.0.0.0 and < 16.0.5461.1001 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Microsoft Microsoft Project 2016 < 16.0.5461.1001 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Microsoft Office Long Term Servicing Channel version 2021 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.9 secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-20 · Improper Input Validation

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Aug 13, 2024
Federal deadline
Sep 3, 2024
passed 772 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Unknown

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 8.19%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Aug 13, 2024 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · microsoft/365 apps, microsoft/office 2019, microsoft/office long term servicing channel, microsoft/project 2016
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Affected products added · microsoft/microsoft office 2019, microsoft/microsoft 365 apps for enterprise, microsoft/microsoft project 2016, microsof
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • CVSS changed · 8.8
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Source status changed · → Published
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2024
  • CVE published
    Aug 13, 2024 · microsoft
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Aug 12, 2024 · CISA

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

4 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Microsoft
every CVE for this vendor
2024-08
what else CISA listed that month
CWE-20
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-108455 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2h
  • Medium CVE-2026-108454 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2h
  • Medium CVE-2026-108453 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 2h
  • High CVE-2026-108447 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 2h
  • High CVE-2026-108448 Microsoft Office Outlook Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 2h
  • High CVE-2026-108450 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 2h

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2024-38189 is "Microsoft Project Remote Code Execution Vulnerability", rated High. It affects 365 Apps (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 8.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 8.19% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.