CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV High Injection

CVE-2024-40890 — Zyxel DSL CPE OS Command Injection Vulnerability

**UNSUPPORTED WHEN ASSIGNED** A post-authentication command injection vulnerability in the CGI program of the legacy DSL CPE Zyxel VMG4325-B10A firmware version 1.00(AAFR.4)C0_20170615 could allow an authenticated attacker to execute operating system (OS) commands on an affected device by sending a crafted HTTP POST request.

Published Feb 4, 2025 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: Zyxel

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • EPSS 20.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed Feb 11, 2025
EPSS FIRST
20.7%
ahead of 98% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Zyxel
Sbg3300-n000 Firmware and 13 more
CVSS base
8.8
High · 3 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

CISA required action CISA

The impacted product could be end-of-life (EoL) and/or end-of-service (EoS). Users should discontinue product utilization if a current mitigation is unavailable.

US federal deadline: Mar 4, 2025 — passed 590 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Zyxel Sbg3300-n000 Firmware, Zyxel Sbg3300-nb00 Firmware, Zyxel Sbg3500-n000 Firmware…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. EPSS ahead of 98% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Zyxel Sbg3300-n000 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Sbg3300-nb00 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Sbg3500-n000 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Sbg3500-nb00 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg1312-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg1312-b10b Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg1312-b10e Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg3312-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg3313-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg3926-b10b Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel VMG4325-B10A firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel VMG4325-B10A firmware version <= 1.00(AAFR.4)C0_20170615 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Zyxel Vmg4380-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg8324-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Zyxel Vmg8924-b10a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
Low
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.9 security@zyxel.com.tw via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
8.8 CVSS 3.1 High — — Zyxel via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: security@zyxel.com.tw)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-78 · OS Command Injection

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
Feb 11, 2025
Federal deadline
Mar 4, 2025
passed 590 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Unknown

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 20.70%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before Feb 11, 2025 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logsendpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · zyxel/vmg4325-b10a firmware
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Affected products added · zyxel/vmg1312-b10a firmware, zyxel/vmg1312-b10b firmware, zyxel/vmg1312-b10e firmware, zyxel/vmg3312-b10a firmware, zyxe
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 8.8
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2025
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    Feb 10, 2025 · CISA
  • CVE published
    Feb 4, 2025 · Zyxel

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

4 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Zyxel
every CVE for this vendor
2025-02
what else CISA listed that month
Injection
same class
CWE-78
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2024-40891 Zyxel DSL CPE OS Command Injection Vulnerability KEV Feb 4, 2025

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2024-40890 is "Zyxel DSL CPE OS Command Injection Vulnerability", rated High. It affects Sbg3300-n000 Firmware (Zyxel); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 8.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 20.70% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.