CVE-2024-4540 — Keycloak: exposure of sensitive information in pushed authorization requests (par) kc_restart cookie
A flaw was found in Keycloak in OAuth 2.0 Pushed Authorization Requests (PAR). Client-provided parameters were found to be included in plain text in the KC_RESTART cookie returned by the authorization server's HTTP response to a `request_uri` authorization request, possibly leading to an information disclosure vulnerability.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.6% (30-day exploitation probability)+7
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat build of Keycloak 22, Red Hat Red Hat build of Keycloak 24, Red Hat Red Hat Single Sign-On 7.6 for RHEL 7…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (info disclosure), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat build of Keycloak 22 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat build of Keycloak 24 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Single Sign-On 7.6 for RHEL 7 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Single Sign-On 7.6 for RHEL 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Single Sign-On 7.6 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | RHEL-8 based Middleware Containers | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 3.9 | 3.6 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.5 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.55%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Look for anomalous data read/export volumes and access to sensitive records.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat build of keycloak 22, red hat/red hat build of keycloak 24, red hat/red hat single sign-on 7.6 for rhel
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.5
- Source status changed · → Deferred
- Record created in this database
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
11 on the record
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3566
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3576
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3574
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3570
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3572
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3568
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3573
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3575
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3567
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-4540
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-15563 Wildfly-iiop-openjdk: missing authentication on eap's iiop nameservice leads to mitm or dos Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-7507 Org.keycloak/keycloak-services: session fixation in oidc login flow that can lead to account takeover May 19, 2026
- High CVE-2026-7307 Keycloak: keycloak: denial of service via specially crafted saml input May 19, 2026
- High CVE-2026-4634 Keycloak: keycloak: denial of service via excessive processing of openid connect scope parameters Apr 2, 2026
- High CVE-2026-5121 Libarchive: libarchive: arbitrary code execution via integer overflow in iso9660 image processing Mar 30, 2026
- High CVE-2026-4424 Libarchive: libarchive: information disclosure via heap out-of-bounds read in rar archive processing Mar 19, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-4540 is "Keycloak: exposure of sensitive information in pushed authorization requests (par) kc_restart cookie", rated High. It affects Red Hat build of Keycloak 22 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.55% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.