CVE-2024-50302 — Linux Kernel Use of Uninitialized Resource Vulnerability
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: HID: core: zero-initialize the report buffer Since the report buffer is used by all kinds of drivers in various ways, let's zero-initialize it during allocation to make sure that it can't be ever used to leak kernel memory via specially-crafted report.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
- EPSS 0.8% (30-day exploitation probability)+8
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — git.kernel.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
CISA required action CISA
Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
US federal deadline: Mar 25, 2025 — passed 570 day(s) ago
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Debian Debian Linux, Google Android, Linux Linux…).
- Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debian | Debian Linux | version 11.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Android | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database | |
| Linux | Linux |
≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < e7ea60184e1e88a3c9e437b3265cbb6439aa7e26version 3.12≥ 3.11.5 and < 3.12≥ 3.10.16 and < 3.11version fe6c9b48ebc920ff21c10c50ab2729440c734254version b2b6cadad699d44a8a5b2a60f3d960e00d6fb3b7≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 177f25d1292c7e16e1199b39c85480f7f8815552≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 492015e6249fbcd42138b49de3c588d826dd9648 and 5 more≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 9d9f5c75c0c7f31766ec27d90f7a6ac673193191≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 1884ab3d22536a5c14b17c78c2ce76d1734e8b0b≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 05ade5d4337867929e7ef664e7ac8e0c734f1aaf≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < d7dc68d82ab3fcfc3f65322465da3d7031d4ab46≥ 27ce405039bfe6d3f4143415c638f56a3df77dca and < 3f9e88f2672c4635960570ee9741778d4135ecf5 |
Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Linux | Linux Kernel |
version 6.12-rc6version 6.12-rc5version 6.12-rc4version 6.12-rc3version 6.12-rc2version 6.12-rc1≥ 6.7 and < 6.11.8≥ 6.2 and < 6.6.61 and 5 more≥ 5.16 and < 6.1.117≥ 5.11 and < 5.15.172≥ 5.5 and < 5.10.230≥ 4.20 and < 5.4.286≥ 3.12 and < 4.19.324 |
Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Simatic S7-1500 Tm Mfp Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Sinec Os | < 3.2 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 1.8 | 3.6 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 1.8 | 3.6 | 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
CISA KEV details CISA
CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.
CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 4 reading(s) · max 0.81%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
- Hunt retroactively in logs from before Mar 4, 2025 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · linux/linux
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · google/android, debian/debian linux, siemens/simatic s7-1500 tm mfp firmware, siemens/sinec os, linux/linux kernel
- CVSS changed · 5.5
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Added to CISA KEV (detected)
- Record created in this database
- 2025
- Added to CISA KEV catalog
- 2024
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
15 on the record
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/05ade5d4337867929e7ef664e7ac8e0c734f1aaf
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/177f25d1292c7e16e1199b39c85480f7f8815552
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/e7ea60184e1e88a3c9e437b3265cbb6439aa7e26
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/3f9e88f2672c4635960570ee9741778d4135ecf5
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/9d9f5c75c0c7f31766ec27d90f7a6ac673193191
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/1884ab3d22536a5c14b17c78c2ce76d1734e8b0b
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/d7dc68d82ab3fcfc3f65322465da3d7031d4ab46
- git.kernel.org/stable/c/492015e6249fbcd42138b49de3c588d826dd9648
- www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-50302
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-355557.html
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-9qwc-r24c-26j3
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2025/03/msg00002.html
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-265688.html
- lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2025/01/msg00001.html
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Critical CVE-2026-99999 ipv4: validate checksum_start before completing checksum 1d
- Unknown CVE-2026-98432 ipv4: free inet_opt and ireq_opt after an RCU grace period 1d
- Unknown CVE-2026-98424 wifi: cfg80211: undo netns switch if renaming the wiphy fails 2d
- Unknown CVE-2026-98425 wifi: mac80211: don't warn when an IBSS has no channel to scan 2d
- Unknown CVE-2026-98426 wifi: mwifiex: fix IRQ leak using wrong index in MSI-X error path 2d
- Unknown CVE-2026-98427 net/sched: codel: bound the dropping loop per dequeue call 2d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2024-50302 is "Linux Kernel Use of Uninitialized Resource Vulnerability", rated Medium. It affects Debian Linux (Debian); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 5.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.81% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.