CVE Intelligence
CISA KEV Critical Injection exploit reference

CVE-2024-6047 — GeoVision Devices OS Command Injection Vulnerability

Certain EOL GeoVision devices fail to properly filter user input for the specific functionality. Unauthenticated remote attackers can exploit this vulnerability to inject and execute arbitrary system commands on the device.

Published Jun 17, 2024 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: twcert

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

How the score was calculated
  • Confirmed exploitation (CISA KEV)+35
  • EPSS 10.1% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (critical)+10
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Confirmed
CISA KEV, listed May 7, 2025
EPSS FIRST
10.07%
ahead of 96% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Geovision
GV DSP LPR V2 and 39 more
CVSS base
9.8
Critical · 3 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Active
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

CISA required action CISA

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

US federal deadline: May 28, 2025 — passed 505 day(s) ago

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Geovision GV DSP LPR V2, Geovision GV GM8186 VS14, Geovision GV IPCAMD GV BX130…).
  2. Treat as emergency remediation: the CVE is in CISA KEV (confirmed exploitation).
  3. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  4. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  5. EPSS ahead of 96% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  6. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Geovision GV DSP LPR V2 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV GM8186 VS14 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV BX130 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV BX1500 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV CB220 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV EBL1100 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV EFD1100 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV FD2410 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV FD3400 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV FE3401 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV IPCAMD GV FE420 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS03 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS04A version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS04H version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS216XX version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS2410 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GV VS28XX version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision Gv-bx130 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-bx1500 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-cb220 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-dsp Lpr Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-ebl1100 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-efd1100 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-fd2410 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-fd3400 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-fe3401 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-fe420 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-gm8186 Vs14 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs03 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs04a Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs04h Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs14 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision GV-VS14 VS14 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision Gv-vs21600 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs2410 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs2800 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gv-vs2820 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision Gvlx 4 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Geovision GVLX 4 V2 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Geovision GVLX 4 V3 version all Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.9 twcert@cert.org.tw via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — twcert via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: twcert@cert.org.tw)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-78 · OS Command Injection

Other CVEs with this weakness →

CISA KEV details CISA

CISA lists a CVE once it has evidence of exploitation against real targets.

Listed
May 7, 2025
Federal deadline
May 28, 2025
passed 505 day(s) ago
Ransomware use
Unknown

CISA records ransomware use only for campaigns it has confirmed, so “Unknown” means unrecorded, not ruled out. The deadline binds US federal agencies; for everyone else it is a reference date.

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 12, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 10.07%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
  • Hunt retroactively in logs from before May 7, 2025 (KEV listing): exploitation may have started earlier.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logsendpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · geovision/gv dsp lpr v2, geovision/gv ipcamd gv bx1500, geovision/gv ipcamd gv cb220, geovision/gv ipcamd gv ebl1100, ge
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Affected products added · geovision/gv-dsp lpr firmware, geovision/gv-bx130 firmware, geovision/gv-bx1500 firmware, geovision/gv-cb220 firmware, g
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 9.8
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Added to CISA KEV (detected)
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
  • 2025
  • Added to CISA KEV catalog
    May 6, 2025 · CISA
  • 2024
  • CVE published
    Jun 17, 2024 · twcert

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

6 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Geovision
every CVE for this vendor
2025-05
what else CISA listed that month
Injection
same class
CWE-78
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Critical CVE-2024-11120 GeoVision Devices OS Command Injection Vulnerability KEV Nov 14, 2024

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2024-6047 is "GeoVision Devices OS Command Injection Vulnerability", rated Critical. It affects GV DSP LPR V2 (Geovision); versions are in the scope table. It is in CISA KEV: there is evidence of real-world exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 10.07% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.