CVE Intelligence
High File handling

CVE-2024-9341 — Podman: buildah: cri-o: fips crypto-policy directory mounting issue in containers/common go library

A flaw was found in Go. When FIPS mode is enabled on a system, container runtimes may incorrectly handle certain file paths due to improper validation in the containers/common Go library. This flaw allows an attacker to exploit symbolic links and trick the system into mounting sensitive host directories inside a container. This issue also allows attackers to access critical host files, bypassing the intended isolation between containers and the host system.

Published Oct 1, 2024 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 1% (30-day exploitation probability)+9
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
1.03%
ahead of 63% of scored CVEs · Oct 15, 2026
Affects
Containers
Common and 12 more
CVSS base
8.2
High · 3 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Containers Common, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Red Hat Openshift Container Platform…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (file handling), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Containers Common versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 9.0version 8.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Container Platform version 4.12version 4.13version 4.14version 4.15version 4.16version 4.17 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.12 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.13 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.14 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.15 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.16 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.17 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.18 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Changed
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
Low
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.2 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 4.7 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.2 4.2 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.4 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:L/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 8.2 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-59 · Link Following

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 1.03%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Monitor file creation in web directories and paths with traversal sequences (../).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSfile integrity (FIM)endpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 8, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9, red hat/red hat openshift container platform 4.1
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 8.2
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • 2024
  • CVE published
    Oct 1, 2024 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

18 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Containers
every CVE for this vendor
File handling
same class
CWE-59
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Low CVE-2026-111581 Libblockdev: libblockdev: argument injection in ntfs/vfat label-setting helpers via udisks2 setlabel() d-bus method 1h
  • Medium CVE-2026-111555 Luksmeta: missing slot-range validation permits out-of-gap device i/o 4h
  • High CVE-2026-105958 Spice-server: spice: heap oob read/write via unchecked migration data offsets 4h
  • High CVE-2026-105959 Spice-server: spice: heap buffer overflow via glz dictionary max_encoders integer truncation 5h
  • High CVE-2026-104715 Cifs-utils: mount.cifs credential-file option injection allows local privilege boundary bypass 10h
  • High CVE-2026-92982 Ansible-operator-plugins: ansible operator plugins: arbitrary code execution via jinja2 template injection 1d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2024-9341 is "Podman: buildah: cri-o: fips crypto-policy directory mounting issue in containers/common go library", rated High. It affects Common (Containers); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 8.2 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.03% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.