CVE Intelligence
High exploit reference

CVE-2025-0665 — eventfd double close

libcurl would wrongly close the same eventfd file descriptor twice when taking down a connection channel after having completed a threaded name resolve.

Published Feb 5, 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: curl

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 1.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+10
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
1.3%
ahead of 70% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Curl
Curl and 6 more
CVSS base
7.0
High · 3 source(s)
Prioritization reference: 9.8 provisional

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Curl Curl, Haxx Curl, Netapp Bootstrap Os…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Curl Curl ≥ 8.11.1 and ≤ 8.11.1 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Haxx Curl version 8.11.1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Bootstrap Os versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H300s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410c Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H410s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H500s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp H700s Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
Low
Integrity
Low
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
7.0 CVSS 3.1 High 2.2 4.7 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0 via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.0 CVSS 3.1 High — — CISA-ADP via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:H (score shown at the top: 134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0)
Sources disagree significantly and the divergence is under review. Every score is kept with its origin. For prioritization we use 9.8 (GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · curl/curl
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 14, 2026
  • Affected products added · haxx/curl, netapp/bootstrap os, netapp/h300s firmware, netapp/h410c firmware, netapp/h410s firmware, netapp/h500s firmwa
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 7.0
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 14, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 14, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2025
  • CVE published
    Feb 5, 2025 · curl

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026

References

11 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Curl
every CVE for this vendor

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-92392 HTTP/2 upload Use-After-Free 1d
  • High CVE-2026-80230 Improper Certificate Validation in Haxx Curl Sep 6, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-80255 Insertion of Sensitive Information Into Sent Data in Haxx Curl Sep 6, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-80231 A flaw in libcurl makes it wrongly reuse an existing HTTPS connection setup for a given… Sep 6, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-82208 Improper Certificate Validation in Haxx Curl Sep 6, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-80229 Use After Free in Haxx Curl Sep 6, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No CWE classification.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2025-0665 is "eventfd double close", rated High. It affects Curl (Curl); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.0 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.30% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.