CVE Intelligence
Medium Authentication

CVE-2025-2514 — Improper Restriction of Excessive Authentication Attempts vulnerability in Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform

Improper restriction of excessive authentication attempts vulnerability in Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform G130, G150, G350, G370, G700, G900, F350, F370, F700, F900, Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H, Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform One Block 23, One Block 24, One Block 26, One Block 28. This issue affects Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform G130, G150, G350, G370, G700, G900, F350, F370, F700, F900, Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H, Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform One Block 23, One Block 24, One Block 26, One Block 28  : before DKCMAIN Ver 88-08-16-xx/00, GUM Ver. 88-08-20/00, before DKCMAIN Ver 93-07-26-xx/00, GUM Ver. 93-07-26/00, before DKCMAIN Ver A3-04-02-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-04-02/00, before DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-41-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-41/00, before DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-03-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-02/00.

Published May 7, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: Hitachi

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 0.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+3
  • Technical severity (medium)+3
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
0.3%
ahead of 21% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Hitachi
Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H and 22 more
CVSS base
5.3
Medium · 2 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H, Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform G130, G150, G350, G370, G700, G900, F350, F370, F700, F900, Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform One Block 23, One Block 24, One Block 26, One Block 28…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (authentication), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H < DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-03-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-41-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-41/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-04-02-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-04-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver 93-07-26-xx/00, GUM Ver. 93-07-26/00< DKCMAIN Ver 88-08-16-xx/00, GUM Ver. 88-08-20/00 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform G130, G150, G350, G370, G700, G900, F350, F370, F700, F900 < DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-03-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-41-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-41/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-04-02-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-04-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver 93-07-26-xx/00, GUM Ver. 93-07-26/00< DKCMAIN Ver 88-08-16-xx/00, GUM Ver. 88-08-20/00 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Hitachi Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform One Block 23, One Block 24, One Block 26, One Block 28 < DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-03-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-03-41-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-03-41/00< DKCMAIN Ver A3-04-02-xx/00, EMS Ver. A3-04-02/00< DKCMAIN Ver 93-07-26-xx/00, GUM Ver. 93-07-26/00< DKCMAIN Ver 88-08-16-xx/00, GUM Ver. 88-08-20/00 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Hitachi Virtual Storage One Block version 24version 23version 26version 28 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E1090 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E1090h Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E390 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E390h Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E590 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E590h Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E790 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E790h Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp E990 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp F350 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp F370 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp F700 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp F900 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G130 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G150 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G350 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G370 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G700 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Hitachi Vsp G900 Firmware versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
Low
Integrity
None
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium 3.9 1.4 hirt@hitachi.co.jp via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — Hitachi via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: hirt@hitachi.co.jp)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-307 · Improper Restriction of Excessive Authentication Attempts

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.30%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Review authentication logs: logins without MFA, anomalous sessions and recently created accounts.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSauthentication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · hitachi/hitachi virtual storage platform g130, g150, g350, g370, g700, g900, f350, f370, f700, f900, hitachi/hitachi vir
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 5.3
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Analyzed
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    May 7, 2026 · Hitachi

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

1 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Hitachi
every CVE for this vendor
Authentication
same class
CWE-307
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Critical CVE-2025-1978 Remote Code Execution Vulnerability in Hitachi Storage Navigator and the maintenance console May 7, 2026
  • Critical CVE-2025-9661 OS command injection vulneravility in the management gui (maintenance utility) of Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform One Block 23/24/26/28 May 7, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2025-2514 is "Improper Restriction of Excessive Authentication Attempts vulnerability in Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform", rated Medium. It affects Hitachi Virtual Storage Platform E390, E590, E790, E990, E1090, E390H, E590H, E790H, E1090H (Hitachi); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.3 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.30% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.