CVE Intelligence
Medium

CVE-2025-26465 — Openssh: machine-in-the-middle attack if verifyhostkeydns is enabled

A vulnerability was found in OpenSSH when the VerifyHostKeyDNS option is enabled. A machine-in-the-middle attack can be performed by a malicious machine impersonating a legit server. This issue occurs due to how OpenSSH mishandles error codes in specific conditions when verifying the host key. For an attack to be considered successful, the attacker needs to manage to exhaust the client's memory resource first, turning the attack complexity high.

Published Feb 18, 2025 · Updated Oct 21, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 7.7% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (medium)+3
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
7.72%
ahead of 95% of scored CVEs · Oct 22, 2026
Affects
Debian
Debian Linux and 10 more
CVSS base
6.8
Medium · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Documented patch — ftp.openbsd.org (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
  • Documented mitigation — www.vicarius.io (NIST National Vulnerability Database)

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Debian Debian Linux, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager, Netapp Ontap…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  5. EPSS ahead of 95% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  6. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Debian Debian Linux version 11.0version 12.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Netapp Ontap version 9 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Openbsd Openssh ≥ 6.9 and ≤ 9.8version 6.8-p1version 9.9version 9.9-p1 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 9.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Container Platform version 4.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Red Hat Discovery 1.14 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Extended Update Support versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.6 5.2 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium 1.6 5.2 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
6.8 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-390

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 21, 2026 → Oct 22, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 7.72%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat openshift container platform 4
    Oct 21, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 8, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9.4 extended up
    Oct 21, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 21, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 21, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 21, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Affected products added · openbsd/openssh, netapp/active iq unified manager, netapp/ontap, redhat/openshift container platform, debian/debian linu
    Oct 21, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 6.8
    Oct 21, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 21, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 21, 2026 · Alertas do Telegram
  • 2025
  • CVE published
    Feb 18, 2025 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 2× References added · Oct 21, 2026 – Oct 21, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 21, 2026 – Oct 21, 2026

References

30 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Debian
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-390
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-115484 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv4 option parser heap out-of-bounds read in iscsiuio parse_msg 17h
  • High CVE-2026-115486 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: ipv6 neighbor discovery missing option length validation in iscsiuio allows arp table poisoning 17h
  • Medium CVE-2026-115485 Open-iscsi: open-iscsi: dhcpv6 vendor option strlen heap out-of-bounds read and 1-byte write in iscsiuio 17h
  • Medium CVE-2026-115424 Oc: oc: symlink/hardlink target validation bypass in oc image extract allows file write outside destination 20h
  • Low CVE-2026-115449 Libslirp: libslirp: icmp echo reply length desynchronization leaks host ip to guest 20h
  • Medium CVE-2026-115221 Ipa: freeipa: freeipa uses subject cn as proof of certificate ownership 20h

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2025-26465 is "Openssh: machine-in-the-middle attack if verifyhostkeydns is enabled", rated Medium. It affects Debian Linux (Debian); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 7.72% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.