CVE Intelligence
Medium

CVE-2025-29946 — Insufficient or Incomplete Data Removal in Hardware Component in SEV firmware doesn't…

Insufficient or Incomplete Data Removal in Hardware Component in SEV firmware doesn't fully flush IOMMU. This can potentially lead to a loss of confidentiality and integrity in guest memory.

Published Feb 10, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: AMD

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 0.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+1
  • Technical severity (medium)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
0.16%
ahead of 4% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
AMD
AMD EPYC™ 9005 Series Processors and 1 more
CVSS base
4.5
Medium · 2 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (AMD AMD EPYC™ 9005 Series Processors, AMD AMD EPYC™ Embedded 9005 Series Processors).
  2. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  3. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
AMD AMD EPYC™ 9005 Series Processors versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
AMD AMD EPYC™ Embedded 9005 Series Processors versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Local
Attack complexity
High
Attack requirements
Present
Privileges required
High
User interaction
None
Scope
X
Confidentiality (vulnerable system)
None
Integrity (vulnerable system)
None
Availability (vulnerable system)
None
Confidentiality (subsequent)
High
Integrity (subsequent)
High
Availability (subsequent)
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
4.5 CVSS 4.0 Medium — — psirt@amd.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
4.5 CVSS 4.0 Medium — — AMD via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:H/AT:P/PR:H/UI:N/VC:N/VI:N/VA:N/SC:H/SI:H/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X (score shown at the top: psirt@amd.com)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-1301

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.16%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
endpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · amd/amd epyc™ 9005 series processors, amd/amd epyc™ embedded 9005 series processors
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 4.5
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Deferred
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Feb 10, 2026 · AMD

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

1 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

AMD
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-1301
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2025-54509 Improper access control for register interface in the Input-Output Memory Management… Jun 9, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-0432 Incorrect Default Permissions in AMD AMD Ryzen™ 4000 Series Mobile Processors with Radeon™ Graphics May 14, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2025-0045 Classic Buffer Overflow in AMD AMD Athlon™ 3000 Series Mobile Processors with Radeon™ Graphics May 14, 2026
  • High CVE-2025-48512 Incorrect Default Permissions in AMD AMD Ryzen™ 4000 Series Mobile Processors with Radeon™ Graphics (formerly codenamed "Renoir") May 14, 2026
  • High CVE-2025-61972 Missing lock bit protection for NBIO registers could allow a local admin-privileged… May 13, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2025-61971 Missing lock bit protection for NBIO registers could allow a local admin-privileged… May 13, 2026

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2025-29946 is "Insufficient or Incomplete Data Removal in Hardware Component in SEV firmware doesn't…", rated Medium. It affects AMD EPYC™ 9005 Series Processors (AMD); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 4.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.16% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.