CVE-2025-40809 — Out-of-bounds Write in Siemens Solid Edge Se2024
A vulnerability has been identified in Solid Edge SE2024 (All versions < V224.0 Update 14), Solid Edge SE2025 (All versions < V225.0 Update 6). The affected applications contains an out of bounds write vulnerability while parsing specially crafted PRT files. This could allow an attacker to crash the application or execute code in the context of the current process.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.1% (30-day exploitation probability)+0
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Siemens Solid Edge Se2024, Siemens Solid Edge Se2025).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Siemens | Solid Edge Se2024 |
version 224.0version 224.0-update_0009version 224.0-update_0008version 224.0-update_0007version 224.0-update_0006version 224.0-update_0005version 224.0-update_0004version 224.0-update_0003 and 7 moreversion 224.0-update_0002version 224.0-update_00013version 224.0-update_00012version 224.0-update_00011version 224.0-update_00010version 224.0-update_0001versions not specified by the source |
Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Solid Edge Se2024 | < V224.0 Update 14 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Siemens | Solid Edge Se2025 | versions not specified by the sourceversion 225.0version 225.0-update_0001version 225.0-update_0002version 225.0-update_0003version 225.0-update_0004version 225.0-update_0005 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Solid Edge Se2025 | < V225.0 Update 6 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.3 | CVSS 4.0 | High | — | — | productcert@siemens.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.3 | CVSS 4.0 | High | — | — | siemens via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | productcert@siemens.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | siemens via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: productcert@siemens.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.14%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · siemens/solid edge se2024, siemens/solid edge se2025
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Record created in this database
- 2025
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
1 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-50061 Use After Free in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-50058 Out-of-bounds Read in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-50059 Out-of-bounds Write in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-50060 Use After Free in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-50063 Out-of-bounds Read in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
- High CVE-2026-50064 Out-of-bounds Write in Siemens Solid Edge Se2025 Aug 11, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2025-40809 is "Out-of-bounds Write in Siemens Solid Edge Se2024", rated High. It affects Solid Edge Se2024 (Siemens); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.14% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.