CVE-2025-5962 — Rhel-lightspeed: improper access control in lightspeed history management allows local privilege manipulation
A flaw was found in the Lightspeed history service. Insufficient access controls allow a local, unprivileged user to access and manipulate the chat history of another user on the same system. By abusing inter-process communication calls to the history service, an attacker can view, delete, or inject arbitrary history entries, including misleading or malicious commands. This can be used to deceive another user into executing harmful actions, posing a risk of privilege misuse or unauthorized command execution through social engineering.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+2
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10, Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (access control), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.7 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 2.5 | 5.2 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.7 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.7 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 18, 2026 → Oct 19, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.23%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Audit administrative actions and access to resources outside each user’s normal pattern.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.7
- Source status changed · → Deferred
- Record created in this database
- 2025
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 18, 2026 – Oct 18, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 18, 2026 – Oct 18, 2026
References
6 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-113495 Cockpit-machines: rhsm access-token disclosure through image helper command-line arguments 6h
- Medium CVE-2026-113496 Cockpit-machines: vnc console password disclosure through virt-xml command-line arguments 6h
- High CVE-2026-112258 Gimp: gimp: use-after-free in xcf loader via prop_linked and prop_selection on channels 20h
- High CVE-2026-112261 Gimp: gimp: use-after-free in xcf loader via prop_selected_path 20h
- High CVE-2026-112257 Gimp: gimp: heap out-of-bounds read/write in psd thumbnail loader (load_resource_1033) 20h
- High CVE-2026-112260 Gimp: gimp: heap out-of-bounds read in xcf text-layer parasite parsing 22h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2025-5962 is "Rhel-lightspeed: improper access control in lightspeed history management allows local privilege manipulation", rated High. It affects Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.7 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.23% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.