CVE-2025-9909 — Aap-gateway: improper path validation in gateway allows credential exfiltration
A flaw was found in the Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform Gateway route creation component. This vulnerability allows credential theft via the creation of misleading routes using a double-slash (//) prefix in the gateway_path. A malicious or socially engineered administrator can configure a honey-pot route to intercept and exfiltrate user credentials, potentially maintaining persistent access or creating a backdoor even after their permissions are revoked.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+1
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform, Red Hat Ansible Developer, Red Hat Ansible Inside…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Ansible Automation Platform | < 2.6 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Ansible Developer | version 1.2version 1.3 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Ansible Inside | version 1.3version 1.4 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 0.8 | 5.9 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 6.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 0.17%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.5 for rhel 8, red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.5 for rhel 9,
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 6.7
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
6 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-84724 Automation-controller: automation-controller: systemjob extra_vars.days argument injection into uncontainerized control-plane awx-manage process 22d
- Critical CVE-2026-84719 Automation-controller: automation-controller: workflowjobtemplate /copy/ deep-copy sanitizer omits instance_groups authorization (instancegroup use_role bypass to control-plane) 22d
- High CVE-2026-84714 Automation-controller: automation-controller: incomplete sanitize_jinja() regex allows jinja template injection into ad-hoc module_args, machine-credential fields, and host names, reaching ansible-core templating in the execution environment 22d
- Medium CVE-2026-84716 Automation-controller: automation-controller: instance install_bundle issues 10-year, non-revocable receptor mesh-ca certificates for caller-chosen (and case-variant impersonating) hostnames 22d
- Medium CVE-2026-84717 Automation-controller: automation-controller: unauthenticated 200-vs-403 oracle in bitbucket data center webhook receiver enumerates webhook-enabled job templates 22d
- Medium CVE-2026-84718 Automation-controller: automation-controller: client ip spoofing in audit/access logs via unrestricted x-forwarded-for trust 22d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2025-9909 is "Aap-gateway: improper path validation in gateway allows credential exfiltration", rated Medium. It affects Ansible Automation Platform (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.7 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.17% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.